Review: Trust in Me (Wait for You #1.5) by J. Lynn

17860217

Summary:

From the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of WAIT FOR YOU, this is the story of Cam and Avery’s sizzling romance as you’ve never seen it before, told exclusively from Cam’s perspective…

Cameron Hamilton is used to getting what he wants, especially when it comes to women. But when Avery Morgansten comes crashing into his life – literally – he finally meets the one person who can resist his soulful baby blues. But Cam’s not ready to give up – he can’t get this feisty and intriguing girl out of his head.

Avery has secrets, secrets that keep her from admitting the feelings Cam knows she has for him. What will it take to help him break down her barriers and gain her trust? Or will he be shut out of Avery’s life, losing his first real shot at the kind of love that lasts forever?

Review:

In middle school, I had a crush on this girl in my class. She was a lot like Shortcake—tiny, rarely spoke, nervous as one of those small dogs that shook all the time. But when she smiled, the fucking sun seemed to rise.

Well what can I tell you about this book, let’s see… Cameron Hamilton is an asshole. But an asshole that bakes.

I think that’s the best description of Cam you can make, he is on of those characters that if you probaly met in real life you would think he is cocky and overconfident and you wouldn’t want anything to do with him but if he is in a book, well then he automatically becomes one of your fictional husbands. That’s how good he is. He is cute, funny and his tortoise is named Raphael, as in the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Raphael, How could someone not love him?

This is a novella from the series Wait for You a series by J. Lynn who yes also goes by J.L. Armentrout and writes books about all your other fictional husbands (actually there is a reference to the circles of hell and I couldn’t stop thinking about Roth). The first book (same name as the series) is this story but in Avery’s POV, and now finally I’ve read Cam’s. What can I say it’s always amazing to get into a boys mind and to be able to reread a book in a different way, because you know what to expect but at the same time you have never heard (read) the story from this side. In overall I lovethis book, this story but there is something you always love more than anything, in my list first we have Cam’s friends:

“Hey!” Ollie yelled. “I have a name. It’s Señor Fucktard!”

Ollie and Jase are very different but both are great friends (specially Jase you can lear more from him in Be with You) and both are hilarious and crazy and even if they don’t understand why Cam does things they always fully support him and that’s an admirable quality to have as a friend. Another thing I love about this book is how much cockiness there is, I mean he is an overconfident asshole and you can see it from the beginning to the end of the book:

“I bake a lot of things, and I’m sure you’re dying to know all about those things. But tonight, it was chocolate-and-walnut cookies. They are the shit if I do say so myself.”

How he acts with his family:

“A real, live female?” she asked.
“Opposed to a fake, dead female?”

“Who do you keep texting?”
Teresa smirked. “That’s none of your business.”
I arched a brow. “I’m your brother, it’s my business. Mom . . .” I paused, looking across the table. “You should tell your daughter it’s rude to text at the table.”

Is it just me or some of this conversations closely reflect your families too? And of course we can’t forget his incredible metaphors:

There was no point in checking for her car. In the darkness, it
would be like looking for a needle in a pile of fucking needles.

I mean that was good, someone needs to give him some sort of award for it. Anyway my most favorite thing is the way he talks about and with Avery:

“Do not tell me you don’t know you’re pretty. If so, I’m about to lose all faith in mankind. You don’t want to be responsible for that.”

My chest lurched as Shortcake snuggled in, folding her hands together under her chin. I watched her for a moment, soaking up the smooth line of her jaw, the curve of her cheek and those rosy lips.
Damn, I was fucked in all the right ways.

I mean, how can you resist him? You simply can’t.

If you like books with which you swoon over for a couple of weeks after you read them, and then you swoon again over them whenever your friends bring the characters back then this book is definitely for you. If you like babbling about how you want to meet someone like them to your mum (yes I do that) then this book is for you. So if you ask me if I would recommend this book to people? You just have to ask Amy because we all made her read it.

So I hope if you read this review and haven’t read this series go and pick it up right now at the closest bookshop or on amazon an read it and come back here and tell me how you feel about it.

Byeeeeeee for now

paula  calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

