Review: Whatever Life Throws at You by Julie Cross

20757528Summary:

Life loves a good curveball…

Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas’s life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major leagues as the new pitching coach for the Kansas City Royals. Now she’s living in Missouri (too cold), attending an all-girls school (no boys), and navigating the strange world of professional sports. But Annie has dreams of her own—most of which involve placing first at every track meet…and one starring the Royals’ super-hot rookie pitcher.

But nineteen-year-old Jason Brody is completely, utterly, and totally off-limits. Besides, her dad would kill them both several times over. Not to mention Brody has something of a past, and his fan club is filled with C-cupped models, not smart-mouthed high school “brats” who can run the pants off every player on the team. Annie has enough on her plate without taking their friendship to the next level. The last thing she should be doing is falling in love.

But baseball isn’t just a game. It’s life. And sometimes, it can break your heart…

Review:

Hi it’s Manuela again, I just finished reading this book and I felt the urge to write a review because, holy shit, this was amazing, and I need to spread the love.

So, let’s start talking about the main character: Annie Lucas, a 17-year-old runner.

I love her, no, seriously, I want her to be my bff. She’s bold, honest, she has no filter and that makes her so funny. I laughed out loud way too much, embarassing myself in front of too many people (I need to stop reading in public).

Finally a teenage character who actually acts like a teenage without being annoying and way too immature. Or worse, with the mind of a grown up woman. Annie makes mistakes that are acceptable considering her age, but she has the best intentions and then she learns from those mistakes and grows up through the whole book.

Differently from other YA contemporaries, Annie is not the perfect daughter who’s completely aversed to fun, sex and whatever teenagers actually do; she’s real, and she goes through all the phases a high school girl should go through.

“I don’t know when this happened, but I know for sure tonight I’ve developed a big crush on Jason Brody, and unfortunately there’s a club forming and membership is growing with every inning he pitches.”

Same, Annie… Same.

Jason Brody *dramatic sighs* Trust me, you want to meet Jason Brody, fall in love with him and drool over him in his shirtless gloriousness while he’s training. And if you’re lucky he’ll whispers dirty things in spanish in your ear *swoons*

But aside his perfect body, he’s a sweet, cute, adorable guy who’s had a difficult past. He’s been a really bad boy, and who doesn’t love a bad boy who changes and ends up being the perfect boyfriend material? But he’s becoming the star pitcher of the Kansas City Royals team (there’s a lot of baseball, I had to look up some of the rules to understand what was going on during every game) and he’s seen in public with a lot of groupies, tsk-tsk Brody, not good. But we can all forgive him because he blushes, I mean I can’t think of something more adorable than a 19-year-old hottie blushing.

 “You have fantasies about kissing me?” He lifts his head from my neck and touches his forehead to mine. “Yes.” “Since when?” There’s the slightest bit of color creeping up to his cheeks. He laughs softly and drops his head again, resting it on my shoulder. “Probably since you told me that I couldn’t choose to be a house elf because they’re an enslaved race.”

So cute!

Then there are some secondary characters that are so lovable: Annie’s dad, Jim, I sobbed a lot because his relationship with his daughter is really emotional. Plus he has a great back story which also involves Annie’s mom, and that influenced a lot of Annie’s choices and her view of love.

“This is exactly how I imagine falling in love – not that I’ve ever experienced it before, but I get the sense that your subconscious takes over and just like with fears, you have no control. No choice. And it sucks. Big time.”

There’s Lenny, the best friend. Her family is seriously messed up, so Lenny’s story gets really interesting too. And then we have Grams, an old woman with alzheimer, and Annie often takes care of her. You’ll end up loving her too.

I personally loved this book a lot, and if you decide to pick it up I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did. Let me know!

manuela calloway sisters

 

Leave a Reply

