Review: Rival (Fall Away #2) by Penelope Douglas

 rival

Summary:

Madoc and Fallon. Two estranged teenagers playing games that push the boundaries between love and war…

She’s back.

For the two years she’s been away at boarding school, there was no word from her. Back when we lived in the same house, she used to cut me down during the day and then leave her door open for me at night. I was stupid then, but now I’m ready to beat her at her own game…

I’m back.

Two years and I can tell he still wants me, even if he acts like he’s better than me. But I won’t be scared away. Or pushed down. I’ll call his bluff and fight back. That’s what he wants, right? As long as I keep my guard up, he’ll never know how much he affects me…

Review:

Rival is book two of the Fall Away series by Penelope Douglas. I have been a fan of her since I read Bully, the first book of the series and she never disappoints! This book was so goooooood! Seriously, I loved it so much. It was beautiful, heart wrenching, and yes I swooned and cried. Penelope has a way of writing a very engaging story of love-hate relationship. I had doubts about this type of plot but it was unwarranted because it has the perfect mix of grit and angst and if there is one thing that Penelope is great at it is she has a wickedly sensual talent of making the reader fall straight in love with her story telling.

My little rival. You think I can’t rise to the occasion in this game?

Madoc, a smart ass but charismatic guy. He is sexy, sensitive and did I mention sexy? We met him in the previous book so when I learned this is about him I was so happy because he is such an interesting character!

“You act like you have no heart, like you just swallow your conscience with all of the pain you cause. But I see through it, Fallon. The truth is, you want me like nobody’s business. You’ve always wanted me. You know why? Because I don’t try kill your demons. I run with them.”

That’s it! GIMME ME MADOC! MY BODY IS READY Fallon. What can I say I love me some tough girl! She has been through a lot in life and it made her strong. I couldn’t be prouder but at the same time I just want to hug and protect her.

“But breaking was beautiful. It hurt, and it was an uphill climb back to sanity, but you came back stronger, fiercer, and more solid than you were before.” 

thats my baby

Madoc and Fallon are step-siblings (intriguing right?) who love to hate each other but could not fight their attraction with one another.  The banter between these two was amusing.  They went from fighting to wanting to rip each other’s clothes. And I have to mention the steamy scenes in this book was so HOT AND SENSUAL BUT ALSO TENDER AND SWEET (CAN YOU FEEL THE INTESITY? I’M EVEN IN CAPS).

“The thing is, Fallon . . . I told you before to lock the door if you wanted me to stay out. Funny thing is . . .” I leaned in. “You. Never. Did.” 

hot With Madoc, a dynamic hero and Fallon, a strong heroine I could not help but enjoy this book.

i love it

I also love that we get glimpses of Jared and Tate! And omg can we talk about Jax? Damn that boy is dark, mysterious and so badass! I really like this series and I can’t wait to read Jax’s story next!

rheeza calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

