Review: Obsession by J.L. Armentrout


14060046

Summary:

He’s arrogant, domineering, and… To. Die. For.

Hunter is a ruthless killer. And the Department of Defense has him firmly in their grasp, which usually doesn’t chafe too badly because he gets to kill bad guys. Most of the time he enjoys his job. That is, until he’s saddled with something he’s never had to do before: protect a human from his mortal enemy.

Serena Cross didn’t believe her best friend when she claimed to have seen the son of a powerful senator turn into something… unnatural. Who would? But then she witnesses her friend’s murder at the hands of what can only be an alien, thrusting her into a world that will kill to protect their secret.

Hunter stirs Serena’s temper and her lust despite their differences. Soon he’s doing the unthinkable—breaking the rules he’s lived by, going against the government to keep Serena safe. But are the aliens and the government the biggest threats to Serena’s life… or is it Hunter?

Review:

Hello everyone! *waves* I don’t think I introduced myself properly in the last review sorry I was just so excited to post my first one (eek). My name is Paula and I will post reviews every Thursday and some other day if I’m able between all the homeworks and the studying. So this week I bring you another book by J.L. Armentrout (I swear I read more than just books by her) but I just had the pleasure of finishing the last Lux Series book (you can check them out here) and although it was sad because there are no more books it left me feeling happy for my loves Daemon and Kat. Anyway, returning to the task at hand Hunter and Serena our two main characters did a special appearance in Opposition (said last book) and therefore it left me wanting to read a bit more about them. Thankfully Jennifer thought ahead of me and wrote this book that can only be described as amazing. Fun fact: I started the book thinking it was YA because the Lux series is YA so imagine my suprise when it turned out to be even better than NA.

Meet Hunter:

hunter

If yummy isn’t the first thing that comes to your mind after seeing him it will be after reading this description of him given by none other than Serena

“Hunter oozed danger […] The kind of danger of a man who could take care of things when they got out of hand and could, and would, fuck you senseless when it was all done.”

Yep, that is the best description of Hunter someone probably could ever give you. He is dominant, in and out of bed, and has that distinctive characteristic of boys in books lately where they deny their feelings until the very end but we still love him because he is protective, funny (too cocky sometimes), he can cook and he is oh so very sexy.

“That’s an alien. I’m an alien. We’re aliens. Aliens everywhere,actually, which is why we have to leave. I’m sure someone has called the police by now.”

Oh yeah and there is that, he is also an alien (weeeeeird) but it doesn’t matter to me.

758422

But unfortunately for all of us he is taken and deeply in love with our heroine Serena Cross

Nothing was coming off her except warmth and softness and sunlight. Yeah, that’s it. She tasted like sunlight.

serena

She has a rough start in the book (with her best friend being killed by a Luxen and all that). Serena is a strong female character and she leads a quiet and normal life until all of this happens and suddenly BAM! She sees herself being launched into a world full of secret goverment organizations and human beings that are actually lightbulbs (read the book and you will get the reference *laughs evilly*)

Hunter is not used to being said no and she is not used to people bossing her as if she was 5 so this calls for a lot of trouble and obviously some hot steamy sex and trust me there is plenty of that, I didn’t know I needed alien sex until I read this. We go from this:

“You have a feisty little attitude, don’t you?”
“You’re about to get a feisty little foot up your ass,” I spat back.

to this:

“Your hair is beautiful,” he murmured. “It’s the color of light.”

in barely ten pages HELL TO THE YEAH!

Bh22ShOCcAECmN9

What can I say, this book is intense, I loved it because it gives you an insight in how the lifes of the Arum (his alien race) are in opposition to the Lux books which show you the life of the Luxen (some more hot aliens). It helps you realize you always have to pay attention to every point of view in every situation because nothing is just black or white, there are shades and shades of grey. If you like action, sexyness and extraterrestial adventures I highly recommend this book for you.

Much love x

paula

calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

