Review: Play of Light by Debra Doxer

22881797

Summary: 

I lived in paradise, and I loved Spencer Pierce.

At fourteen, my life was perfect. The beach was my playground, and the boy who stole my heart lived just around the corner. But perfect never lasts. In one horrifying moment, I lost it all. My family was destroyed, and the boy I believed in turned his back on me. Paradise became a nightmare.

That was five years ago. Everything changed when we moved from our home by the sea. I’ve changed, and I don’t like who I’ve become. I miss the smiling, carefree beach girl who disappeared that terrible night. I want to find her again. I want to face the people we ran from so long ago. Most of all, I have to face Spencer. So I can prove that when he broke my heart, he didn’t break me.

But when I see him again, Spencer Pierce is no longer the boy from my memories. He’s now a man who could devastate me if I let him. He watches me when he thinks I’m not looking. There’s regret written on his face when he’s near. Each time I see him, my heart aches for what might have been, and I think his does too. How can I convince myself I’m over him when I suspect he never got over me?

~ This is a standalone story. ~

Review: 

Hello, it’s Alex! Do you feel like reading the story of a childhood crush that turns into an epic love? Stick around.

I was given an early copy of this e-book on behalf of Xpresso Books in an exchange of an honest review. And I was actually really excited to read this because I think childhood love has some kind of special magic to it and this book definitely didn’t disappoint in that aspect.

“I fell in love with Spencer Pierce the day he saved me from the pirates.”

Sarah, or Sarah Smile as I very much like to call her, knows she needs to go back to her hometown to feel some kind of closure. One night, when she was fourteen something happened that changed her life and made her family and herself move out and leave her old life behind. Now, she wants to go back and solve some things. But that also means meeting Spencer Pierce again, her old school crush, after he betrayed her that night a long time ago.

I enjoyed this novel a whole lot, for me it was well structured in a sense that you know what happened the night at the middle of the book or so. It’s really annoying when authors try to maintain a mystery that is not there because everyone can see what’s going on, Doxer didn’t do that at all. She exposed the truth in a moment that I think it was appropriate and necessary. Also, I loved the alternation between the present and when Sarah was fourteen because you can see how much she has grown and changed. And can we please take a moment to talk about how cute Spencer and Sarah relationship was?

“What do you know? It’s a guitar. Otherwise known as a chick magnet.” Giggling, I shook my head at him and said, “Like you need one,” then clamped my mouth shout.

“Skip school and go into Boston with you? Today? Are you serious?”
“Too much for you, right? Too bad for a good girl like you” Then he leaned in close and said, “I dare you.”
That did it. Those were the magic words. “I would go. Right now.”

The only thing that annoyed me a bit was the fact that once Spencer and Sarah met again, it’s instant love. I would have liked the book to have a little more of their present relationship building up. Nonetheless, this is an easy, fast, emotional and cute read you will not want to put the book down. You will want to finish this in one sitting.

“I thought I couldn’t really love anyone until I saw Spencer again. Then I realized the problem wasn’t that I couldn’t loveit was that I couldn’t love anyone but him.”

I also thought that all the art references were extremely interesting, I took history of art classes so when I realized the connection I couldn’t stop myself from looking for the pieces of art.

If any of this sounded interesting to you, you should check this book out, it comes out Monday the 9th!

PS: The cover is utterly beautiful and it’s so meaningful to the story, I adore it.

unnamed calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

