2 months until The Ruby Circle!

It felt like it was only yesterday that Silver Shadows came out and the whole fandom lost their shit. And now it’s December and it’s exactly two months before The Ruby Circle, and with that, the last book of the series comes out. I am incredibly sad about this. I love this world too much for it to be over already. No more books to look forward to, no more new Sydrian (only if Richelle starts writing a series around Jeddie, maybe they’ll come back). I have tears in my eyes, when I think that this’ll be the last book about Sydney and Adrian. I can truly say that they are my all time favorite characters. They have been through so much together. To celebrate (or not, in my case) that The Ruby Circle is only 8 weeks away, how about a journey back in time? Let me take you back through to where it all began.

“Mr. Ivashkov,” I said politely. “It’s nice to see you again.” He frowned and studied me from his greater height. “I know you. How do I know you?”
“We-” I started to say “met” but realized that wasn’t quite right since we hadn’t been formally introduced the last time I had seen him. He’d simply been present when Stanton and I had been hauled to the Moroi Court for questioning. “We ran into each other last month. At your Court.” Recognition lit his eyes. “Right. The Alchemist.”

And that is where this beautiful relationship started. Oh, how they were both young and naive, not knowing yet that they would end up being each other’s soulmates. They become friends through this book, growing closer, skip to the end of the first book when THIS HAPPENS.

“My God, Sage. Your eyes. How have I never noticed them?”
That uncomfortable feeling was spreading over me again. “What about them?”
“The color,” he breathed. “When you stand in the light. They’re amazing… like molten gold. I could paint those…” He reached toward me but then pulled back. “They’re beautiful. You’re beautiful.”

Yep, that hit us all pretty hard in the feels. I think that was the moment I knew Sydrian would be endgame. But that didn’t happen in the next couple book. These things did however.

“Sage,” he said. “What are you wearing?”
I sighed and stared down at the dress. “I know. It’s red. Don’t start. I’m tired of hearing about it.”
“Funny,” he said. “I don’t think I could ever get tired of looking at it.”

“Because there’s no one else out there who understands you like I do.”
I waited for more. “That’s it? You’re not going to elaborate on what that means?”
Those green eyes held me. “I don’t think I need to.”

And then, of course, this.

“No, you will listen. For once, you’re going to hear something that doesn’t fit into your neat, compartmentalized world of order and logic and reason. Because this isn’t reasonable. If you’re terrified, believe me—this scares the hell out of me, too. You asked about Rose? I tried to be a better person for her—but it was to impress her, to get her to want me. But when I’m around you, I want to be better because… well, because it feels right. Because I want to. You make me want to become something greater than myself. I want to excel. You inspire me in every act, every word, every glance. I look at you, and you’re like… like light made into flesh. I said it on Halloween and meant every word: you are the most beautiful creature I have ever seen walking this earth. And you don’t even know it. You have no clue how beautiful you are or how brightly you shine.”

We were all hardcore shipping Sydrian by then, when The Indigo Spell came out. So. Much. Sydrian. So much cute Sydrian. SO MUCH ADORABLE AND HOT SYDRIAN. I had a smile plastered on my face the whole time. Adrian, for example.

“Do you want me to call you Celery Stick instead of Cupcake or Honey-Pie? It just doesn’t inspire the same warm and fuzzy feelings.”

And how about this one?

“Under normal circumstances, you inviting me to the bedroom would be the highlight of my day.”

 “And hey, if I keep loving you, maybe you’ll eventually crack and love me too. Hell, I’m pretty sure you’re already half in love with me.”

Just roll with Adrian Ivashkov’s logic people. And by the time this came along..

“But when I touch you, your aura … it smolders. The colors deepen, it burns more intensely, the purple increases. Why? Why, Sydney?” He used that hand to pull me closer. “Why do you react that way if I don’t mean anything to you?”

… I think we were all yelling at Sydney TO ALREADY KISS THE GUY AND MAKE CUTE BABIES.

And finally, FINALLY, Sydney came to the conclusion that Adrian was her match, yay!

“I realized I’m in love. It’s always been right in front of me.”

End of The Indigo Spell, hello to The Fiery Heart. Sydrian is definitely happening now and it’s all happy and love and happy love and heart-eyes and of course some steaming hot Sydrian sex scenes. We all love ’em. And so did Sydney, obviously.

“My boyfriend was insanely sexy, vampire or not, and I couldn’t keep my hands off him.”

But apart from the sex, I mean who are we joking, Sydney is still Sydney after all. There are so many cute moments in this book, it ruined me. The other moments, the soulmate, i-need-you-so-much-in-my-life, you-are-my-sun moments, they ruined me as well.

“You know I love you, right?” The urge to kiss her goodbye was so strong that I almost broke our rules. She smiled, beautiful and golden in the late morning light. “Not as much as I love you.”
“Oh, man. This is my dream come true: having an ‘I love you more’ debate. Here, I’ll start. I love you more. Your turn.”

“You fixed yourself. You didn’t need me.”
“No, Sydney.” My voice was ragged. “I do need you. You have no idea how much I need you.”

And then Jared Sage had to come and f*** it all up. You have no idea how much I hate that guy. At the end of The Fiery Heart, I was a puddle of tears.

Because of that ending, I was a little scared (read: very scared) to start Silver Shadows, but I had to know how things would happen between Sydney and Adrian. I mean, ENDGAME HERE HELLO. So the first half of the book had me like..

 “But with Sydney… with Sydney, I’d had it all- And lost it all. Love, understanding, respect. The sense that we’d both become better people because of each other and could take on anything so long as we were together. Only we weren’t together anymore. They’d ripped us apart, and I didn’t know what was going to happen now.”

And then BOOM BAM BANG every Sydrian fanfic seemed to have come true. Adrian saved his damsel in distress –

“Are you in a suit?” I managed at last, my voice chocking up. “You didn’t have to dress up for me.”
“Quiet, Sage,” he said. “I’ll make the hilarious one-liners during this daring rescue.”

– and they escaped and ran off to Las Vegas where they got married. Yes, married!!!!!! I believe my jaw was hanging on the floor by then.

“Sydney Katherine Sage,” he said, his green eyes full of love and earnestness. “Would you do a brooding, deadbeat Moroi the honor of being his wife?”

Sydney said yes, of course and after a quick ceremony, they ended up being chased through the streets of Las Vegas in their wedding outfit. They managed to escape the alchemists again and now they are in the Moroi Court. Happily ever after, we all thought? Richelle didn’t, and threw in the biggest cliffhanger of all time. Jill was taken.

Now The Ending is nearing and I’m terrified as hell. Will they save Jill? What’s gonna happen to Sydney and Adrian now that they’re married? Will Jill and Eddie end up together? So many questions. I hope they’ll all be answered in The Ruby Circle. Only two more months guys, we can do this. For now, I will leave you with my favorite quote from all the books.

“Moroi shield from sunlight, but as I watched the way it illuminated Sydney, I knew without a doubt that humans had been made for the sun.”

amy calloway sisters

One thought on “2 months until The Ruby Circle!

  1. Pingback: Review: Silver Shadows (Bloodlines #5) by Richelle Mead | Calloway Books

Leave a Reply

