Review: Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout

22895264

Summary:

Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart.

Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her.

But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul.

Review:

And here I am again, with a broken heart, writing the review of a book by JLA.

Let’s start by saying that I love JLA, her writing style is so funny and it makes it impossible to stop turning pages. Plus she writes books like they were grocery lists, seriously I have no idea how she writes so many books in so little time. So that’s a really admirable quality.

If you love her books as much as I do, GET THIS BOOK! YOU WON’T REGRET IT!

Back to the review…

This book is a fantasy… a NA fantasy… a NA fantasy by JLA…

tumblr_inline_nen07cr5v91s61k2r

Obviously it was a great book, I mean, come on that’s what dreams are made of!

Ivy Morgan is the main character, a strong, brave, funny, stubborn, and broken young woman. She’s told from a very special someone that she looks like Merida, the Disney princess *heart-eyes* She’s been trained her whole life to hunt and kill fae; she’s lost her family and her first love to these creatures, so she’s extremely closed off. Getting close to other people is hard because she has to keep a lot of secrets, but getting close to other members of the Orders is even harder. With the kind of life they lead, death is always around the corner, and she can’t even fathom the idea of feeling that grief again. Ivy avoids relationships, but one can’t be completely alone, so unconsciously she got close to Valerie, a member of the Order like her, and another girl from college, Jo Ann. Yes, she goes to college, because Ivy always hoped she could at least try to have a normal life. Ivy reminded me a lot of Celaena Sardothien from Throne of Glass (if you haven’t read it, please do it now!), and who doesn’t like a honest to God badass female character?tumblr_mdtnb9v5wn1qgggdt

Ivy also has a very special pet, er sorry friend! (don’t call him pet or he’ll kick your ass) Tink! Oh my, how much I love him! He’s a brownie, a kind of fae that’s as tall as a barbie (can’t get cuter than that); Ivy found him, with his wings broken and couldn’t get herself to kill him. So she took him with her and healed him, even though she could get kicked out of the Order. She often finds him bathing in cereals, wearing his cute Ken doll clothes, or watching Harry Potter (now you definitely love him too).

Grabbing a scarf off the chair, I threw it at him. He caught it, clutching it to his chest as he flew into the air. “You gave Tink a scarf. Tink is free!” He flew out into the hallway like a little cracked-out fairy, screeching, “Tink is freeeee!” Ren looked at me. “What the actual fuck?” I sighed. “He’s obsessed with Harry Potter. I’m sorry.” Tink darted back into the room, holding the scarf to his bare chest. “There is no reason to apologize when it comes to Harry Potter.”

One night, while hunting, Ivy crosses road with a fae holding a gun, and that’s strange, but what’s even stranger is that when she stabbed him with a stake the fae didn’t die; the plot develops from there turning in unpredictable ways, and it’s a really good plot.

Anyway, later that night this happens…

As cheesy as it sounded, as my vision focused on who was above me, I was staring into the face of an angel.

Yep, that’s how we meet Ren Owens. Obviously he’s mine, so hands off! Cameron, Daemon, Roth… I’m sorry.

The guy couldn’t be very much older than me or it was the head full of curly brown hair that made him appear so young. One matching eyebrow arched as I stared into eyes the color of leaves in the spring, a rich almost unnatural green. Cheekbones were broad, jaw strong and cut like it was made of marble, and those lips were impossibly full as they curved into a slow grin on one side, revealing he had a deep dimple in his right cheek.

tumblr_mcflk7Yviq1r8a4t9

This is the first image we’re given of Ren and in true JLA style I was left there wondering what I was going to do with my life since he’s a fictional character and I’m desperatly in love with him. But don’t worry, he’s not just the first hot guy walking by; he’s unbelievably hot. Just kidding. He’s also a member of the Order, coming to New Orleans because there’s been an increase of fae there. So he’s a very trained guy, who knows how to fight and rides a motorcycle *swoon*, so he has muscle, lots of muscle. Oh my God I swear, I won’t talk about his good looks anymore!

“Bring him cake.” He flashed a quick grin. “Butter him up. But save me a slice.” A reluctant smile appeared. “I still don’t know if you can have any of my cake.” “Babe, I’m gonna get a piece of it, all right?” I laughed, shaking my head. “So cocky.” The grin stayed on his lips for a few more seconds before slowly fading, and then it was gone, like it had never been there.

This quote amazingly explains this character. Ren may seem at first like a very confident guy, who gets what he wants, who doesn’t really care; but as soon as Ivy starts to spend time with him she sees who he really is. He’s sweet, caring, protective, forgiving, the kind of guy everyone wants as a friend because you know he’ll be there helping you no matter what. But you can feel that something bad happened to him, and it changed him. Ren is always smiling, showing off those adorable dimples, always trying to see the best in people and every situation. There are a couple of scenes in which we see this mask shattering, and we get a glimpse of the guy behind those lopsided grins, and let me tell you, it’s heartbreaking.

“If you tell me to leave, I’ll turn and walk away. I swear, Ivy, but I had to try one more time. […] Please. Don’t let me go.”

 

Even if I loved every other book by JLA, I feel like she outdid herself with this one. Ivy seemed to me so much more alive, more real, than her other characters. There are scenes that literally made me feel like someone was painfully squeezing my heart. And that happened a lot of times just reading Ivy’s thoughts, because she feels so much. She has this tough-girl facade going on, she won’t let anyone see what she’s truly feeling, but us, lucky readers, get to know what’s really going on and I sympathized with her so much. It was beautiful and painful.

Ren lifted his arm closest to me, and a heartbeat passed. I hesitated for a moment, and then, my heart pounding even more, I slid over until my leg brushed his. He curved his arm around my waist and drew me up against his warm, bare chest. Another moment passed and then I lowered my cheek, and the simple pleasure of lying like this nearly brooke me right open.

I’m crying again, dammit!

I don’t want to tell you more about the plot because I think you’ll enjoy it a lot more knowing very little about it. So, I hope I’ve convinced you to read Wicked (please read it, I need someone to sob and scream with about it!)

If you do, let me know your thoughts!

manuela calloway sisters

 

 

Leave a Reply

