Review: Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood #3) by J.R. Ward

42900

Summary:

A former blood slave, the vampire Zsadist still bears the scars from a past filled with suffering and humiliation. Renowned for his unquenchable fury and sinister deeds, he is a savage feared by humans and vampires alike. Anger is his only companion, and terror is his only passion—until he rescues a beautiful aristocrat from the evil Lessening Society.

Bella is instantly entranced by the seething power Zsadist possesses. But even as their desire for one another begins to overtake them both, Zsadist’s thirst for vengeance against Bella’s tormentors drives him to the brink of madness. Now, Bella must help her lover overcome the wounds of his tortured past, and find a future with her…

Review:

Yeah, I know another BDB series review but in my defence I warned you so…

This one is Zsadist story *millions of heart eyes emojis* I wanted to read it since the first book because his character was really mysterious, the kind of dark character that you know is hiding a really troubled cutie pie. And I was right.

I shipped this couple since book #2 when they abruptly meet at the gym and their story is similar to the Beauty and the Beast tale.

Zsadist is distorted by a scar that runs accross his face and he bears the bloodslave tattoos on his wrists and neck. He was kidnapped as a baby from his crib and sold as a slave to a wealthy family (he came from an aristocratic family too). When he went through his transition the Mistress of the houshold made him her personal bloodslave but also sexually abused him. The story is even more tragic but I’m not gonna elaborate too much on that because I will end up crying. Anyway he shows a really hard exterior and even his brothers are afraid of him, but Bella isn’t. She can see through him and his charade and easily undoes him, but their love isn’t that easy Zsadist is afraid of human contact plus Bella is the epitome of perfection and Zsadist considers himself polluted from what happened in his past, adding all this to the fact that he is illiterate Zsadist feels unworthy of her and that leads to a lot of trouble. There was actually a point in the book where I thought there was no going back. In the end everything turns out just fine, and all you want to do is hug Zsadist for the rest of his life.

What is going on in the Lessening Society? Well, the power now goes to Mr. O and that isn’t good at all. He is obsessed with Bella because she reminds him of someone he lost when he was still alive, and he has set his mind on her and nothing will stop him until he has her or she dies.

What did I like most about this book? Well, definitely Bella’s strong character, she was warm but she knew how to act in critical situations. And learning about Zsadist past was amazing.

In the book we learn more about who really John Matthews is and how Zsadist’s past and his character today affects his twin Phury. I have to say there is a scene towards the end of the book between this two that had me bawling my eyes out.

Anyway, this might be so far my favorite book but I ‘m not sure because I have such an overdose of this series in my system right now, not really in a bad way but I’ve read the first 3 books so fast one after the other I’m forgetting the individual details. But even with that I’m still reading number 4 right now, no shame lol.

I really hope you give this series a try xx

P.S.: Here is a drawing of Bella and Zsadist that I found on the internet. Credit to the owner because it is so cute.

ZSADIST

paula  calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

