Review: Ruin (Ruin #1) by Rachel Van Dyken

ruin

Summary:

I’m not your typical girl. I’ve been running away from the memories that haunt me for so long that depression has become my only comfort. I was content in the darkness…until Wes Michals offered to be my light.

I didn’t know that time wasn’t my ally — that every second that ticked past was one step closer to the end of something that was beginning to mean the end of myself. He tried to warn me. He promised me all he was able to offer–each moment as it came–but it would never be enough.

Sometimes when you think it’s the end, it’s only the beginning. Wes thought he could save me, but in giving me everything, he ruined me. Because after one kiss, one touch, I couldn’t–I wouldn’t ever be the same.

And from that moment on, his heartbeat became my own.

Review:

Powerful. Moving. Inspiring. One of those books that takes you to a journey. Your heart will ache but you will experience a pure sense of love and hope that will make each tear that fell worth it. And trust me, it will fall. I’m so glad I read this beautiful, beautiful story and I hope you will too…

“No matter how afraid you are – you can still make the choice to fight. You can still make the choice to walk through the fire- he said to do it afraid.

If you have an expectation in reading this book, I’m telling you that it is so much more. I’m honestly having difficulty writing this review because there are no words to explain how it will leave you at awe. As soon as you finished it you would want to go back to page 1 and read it all over again just to relive every amazing moments.

The story is told in dual POV. Kiersten Rowe has a tragic past keeping her from truly living. She is sweet and innocent but makes no mistake, she is a strong heroine too. Her first day of school she meets Weston Michel. Everyone might think he has it all, money, fame and oh so swoon worthy looks but all he wants is something that he doesn’t have… time. But when their lives collide, it started a special friendship and grew into something more that changed their lives. Wes helped Keirsten overcome her fears and she helped him fight his condition.

“Every time you close your eyes, regardless of where I am or where you are, I want you to remember this. Wherever I am, whatever I’m doing, alive or dead, young or old, my heart will always be with yours. Every beat you feel against your fingertips…” His finger tapped against my chest, once, twice.”…is me calling out to you. It’s you returning the call. It’s us talking, communicating, bonding, sharing. Living–Kiersten, it’s us living. There may come a time in your life when your heart will have to beat for mine…but you’ll have to carry on if I can’t. Just like there may come a time when I have to do the same for you. But in the end, one of us will always carry on this.” He tapped again. “So there’s never a reason to be afraid of running out of time–because we keep our own time.”

This ruined other books for me. Wes ruined me. I love him so much! He is full of wisdom and the things he said and did made me melt and swoon! I am smiling right now just thinking about him.

“I can tell you have a good heart…” I sighed, opening the door to the outside. “…because the minute I met you, I wanted to fight for it.”

“For the first time in a year, I wanted to live- because I wanted to spend every freaking day watching her open her eyes to the world.’’

*tears* But even though the undertone of this story is sad, it is not too much that it becomes depressing. There are a lot of moments that are so cute and funny! The banters between them are gold. Example is their first meeting:

“I turned around… and ran smack dab into a tree.
Or at least it felt like a tree.
But trees weren’t warm.
And they didn’t have one, two, three, four, six, Good Lord, eight? Eight packs? Furthermore, had I actually been feeling said person’s eight pack? And, dear God, I was counting. I had touched each muscle. And great, my hand was still firmly placed against the guy’s stomach.
I jerked my hand back and closed my eyes.
“Were you just counting my abs?”

The message of this book is profound. It will teach you to appreciate life and not take anything for granted. I think I almost highlighted everything because there are so many quotes that are thought provoking and inspiring!

“Life isn’t fair, but living? Living is heaven. Living is a gift. Every gift is different — every path is different — for some reason this is ours, and the sooner we accept it, the sooner we can stop crying and start living.”

The ending is uplifting, it will fill you with hope. I’m still wearing a huge smile on my face and warmness in my heart even after days since I’ve read it.  It’s a stay-with-me-forever type of book that changes you. So thankyouthankyou Rachel Van Dyken for writing such a wonderful book.

“Sometimes when we think God has written The End, what he really means is The Beginning.”

rheeza calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

