Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

11408650

Summary:

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

Review:

Hey! It’s Alex here with a review, yay. I haven’t been able to read anything this week other than Amour Amour (a review by all of us to come soon) because I was doing my final exams so I decided to do a review of one of my favorite trilogies out there.

As you can guess of the summary this paranormal book really doesn’t give away a lot of details, so I’m going to try not to make any spoilers or ruin any of the surprises of the book. You want to enter this book with your eyes folded, discovering the truths the same way Mara Dyer does, with uncertainty and more questions ahead each discovery.

“Thinking something does not make it true. Wanting something does not make it real.”

The book starts with a letter directed to the reader:

“My name is not Mara Dyer, but my lawyer told me I had to choose something. A pseudonym. A nom de plume, for all of us studying for the SATs. I know that having a fake name is strange, but trust me – it’s the most normal thing about my life…”

If that doesn’t make you curious, I don’t know what will. We start this story with Mara Dyer, our main character, in a hospital room without memory whatsoever of the accident that killed her best friend, her boyfriend and his sister. After this traumatic event they all decided to move out, to start fresh again. Mara’s family has a presence in this book, in a YA book. I know, it’s crazy that hardly happens. Mara has two brothers, and one of them is the sweetest guy ever, Daniel Dyer, you will love him; you will want a brother like him or be like him or maybe both.

“Try to behave” I stifled a yawn. “It’s too early to be such an asshat, Daniel.” “And whatch your language. It’s unbecoming.”

Mara Dyer is one of my favorite YA fictional characters ever, and yes she does have some kind of gift when it comes to insulting someone. I really want to quote something, but it’s so good, I want you to read it and laugh your ass off.

Returning to the plot, once they move, Mara has to start a new life but as soon as she starts coping with High School, her new mates and the infuriating but sexy Noah Shaw, she notices she can do weird things, she can’t discern the reality from illusion, everything has changed since the accident and she doesn’t know what is going on.

I don’t want to give more away, if you love paranormal stories and books that don’t allow you to put them down, you will love this book. Another good reason to love this book is Noah Shaw, he’s what your dreams are made of. I promise.

“Where are you going?”
“My God, you’re like the plague.”
“A masterfully crafted, powerfully understated, and epic parable of timeless moral resonance? Why, thank you. That’s one of the nicest things anyone’s ever said to me,” he said.
“The disease, Noah. Not the book.”
“I’m ignoring that qualification.”

unnamed calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

