Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

17788403

Summary:

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover, a passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance.

At twenty-two years old, Sydney has a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter’s cheating on her–and she is left trying to decide what to do next.

Sydney becomes captivated by Ridge, her mysterious neighbor. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. When their inevitable encounter happens, they soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one…

Original music created for Maybe Someday by musician Griffin Peterson can be accessed through the website listed in the ebook and paperback.

Review:

Hey guys, it’s Manu!

As I promised, here I am sharing with you all, why I love this beautiful book. I just reread it especially to write this review (who am I kidding I simply needed to reread it because I’m a masochist).

Colleen Hoover is my goddess, so if you haven’t read any of her books (you can check them out here), do it, and join the cult! Her stories are always unique.  Her writing style is mesmerizing, she expresses feelings so vividly.  Be sure to have tissues around.

Maybe Someday holds a special place in my heart, it’s one of those books that make you feel so much, you seriously wonder if you’ll make it to the end alive.

This is not only a book you read though, it’s a book you experience. There are a lot of songs with beautiful lyrics, and when you read them you just want to listen to them so badly, and Colleen, being her awesome self, with the collaboration of Griffin Peterson, brought them to life! Yes, you heard right, you can listen to all the songs written by the characters here! (there is also a special epilogue about someone… you’ll love Colleen even more after that). So, my advice is to keep your phone close to you while reading, so as soon as a song comes up you can listen to it. It’ll make everything so much more emotional (as if it wasn’t too much to deal with already). Plus, this book is told both from Sydney and Ridge’s pov *sobs quietly*

But let me introduce Sydney Blake to you.

I just punched a girl in the face. Not just any girl. My best friend. My roommate. Well, as of five minutes ago, I guess I should call her my ex-roommate. Her nose began bleeding almost immediately, and for a second, I felt bad for hitting her. But then I remembered what a lying, betraying whore she is. And it made me want to punch her again.

That’s my girl! This is actually the beginning of the prologue, you gotta love Sydney right there. She’s not crazy, she’s punching her best friend for a very valid reason… She caught her sleeping with her boyfriend, Hunter. Sydney and Hunter were together for, like, a couple of years, and it was Tori, the “best friend” who introduced them. But, hey, their friendship was sexual before she even met Sydney… that’s the excuse… I want to punch Tori too.

In the course of just two hours, I’ve lost the entire last two years of my life. That’s a lot of time to invest in two people who were supposed to be the most trusted people in my life. 

Aside from the hate we all feel for Tori and Hunter, let’s talk about Sydney. She used to study pre-law but switched major because what she really loves is music, she wants to become an elementary music teacher; her dad wasn’t really okay with that, she either studied to become a lawyer and he’d help her financially, or she was on her own. Sydney decided to be on her own, to be independent, to work, to pay for her education and do whatever she wants with her life. That’s really admirable, and tells you a lot about this character. She’s also really open-minded, she’s not judgy, and probably gives too much of herself without wanting much back.

After that fast paced prologue we go back to two weeks earlier.

Now, imagine this: it’s 8 pm and you hear beautiful music playing outside, you look out, and you find a handsome, adorable guy on the balcony across the street playing the guitar in a way that says that’s all he’s thinking about, he’s completely lost in the music. That’s what Sydney is lucky enough to witness; so it becomes a routine, she’s always out there at 8 pm to listen to him.

I slide open my balcony door and step outside, thankful that the sun has already dipped behind the building next door, cooling the air to what could pass as a perfect fall temperature. Almost on cue, the sound of his guitar floats across the courtyard as I take a seat and lean back into the patio lounger. 

This has been going on for weeks, and Sydney has even started to sing her own lyrics to those songs. Obviously, the mysterious guy noticed that. And one day, he’s out there, on his balcony, holding up a sheet of paper with his number on it, and a grin that made me melt right there. He has a question for Sydney, and turns out he’s in a band but his writer’s block is making it really hard. Since Sydney was singing to songs that really had no lyrics he asks her to send them to him, and with a lot of insecurities, she does, and he loves them.

It all starts from there. Ridge Lawson, the cute guitarist, knows Hunter’s cheating on Sydney, so when she punched Tori (and Hunter, yes I love her) and left her home, he was there to help her. He offered her to crash in his apartment, for free since she’ll be writing songs with him for his band, where he lives with Warren and Bridgette. You’ll love those two and because Colleen is a hero, you can read a novella just about them, Maybe Not, (you can also check out my review here).

Me: Why didn’t you tell me you were deaf?

Ridge: Why didn’t you tell me you could hear?

Round of applause for Colleen, please. This is enough for me to love her for the rest of my life. This doesn’t only applay to this specific case, but also to a lot of other things, including sexuality. I think what Colleen really wanted to tell us here, is that you don’t have to announce to the world things about yourself, there shouldn’t be labels about these stuff. Like, why should someone tell you he’s gay? Or that he has asperger syndrome? Or whatever. It’s not like you go around with a sign on your forehead saying you’re heterosexual, so why should he? It’s not something that defines who we are, it’s just part of who we are and it shouldn’t matter. (Sorry, I’m just very passionate about this)

Anyway, Ridge is deaf. How does he play the guitar? Well, he learned to feel the music. That’s why sometimes he plays holding the guitar to his chest. He learned how to do a lot of things and it’s honestly amazing. It’s incredible how Colleen introduces you to a world (I didn’t know much about it) and teaches you how it works. She shows how easily Ridge lived, also showing how hard it was most of the time, but how he went on. The people around him are amazing too, they’d do everything for him. There are a lot of scenes that had me crying for hours.

Let’s go back to the plot. Ridge is in love with Maggie, the girl he’s been with since he was 19. They are adorable together, and Maggie is one of those people that everyone loves. His attraction to Sydney is put aside because he’s so sure of his love and loyalty to Maggie. But as Sydney and Ridge start writing songs together, they begin to put their feelings in those words, and it seems impossible to hold back what isn’t just simply attraction.

Despite how hard we tried to fight it, all of those things happened between us because our feelings for each other are becoming so much stronger than our desire. Desire is easy to fight. Especially when the only weapon desire possesses is attraction. It’s not so easy when you’re trying to win a war against the heart.

Sydney and Ridge are basically made for each other, and writing is a very intimate thing to do with someone. Especially when Ridge starts feeling Sydney singing (he’s all wrapped around her). But they don’t act on their feelings, Sydney doesn’t want to become a Tori and doesn’t want to make Maggie a Sydney. It all happens so naively between them, Ridge always tells Maggie when he’s with Sydney… if it weren’t for their hearts, doing all kinds of somersaults whenever they look at each other, or the lyrics of those songs.

I tell myself that with enough effort, I can learn to control my feelings. But then Sydney will do or say something or give me a look, and I can literally feel the part of my heart that belongs to her getting fuller. As much as I want it to empty. I’m worried that feelings are the one thing in our lives that we have absolutely no control over.

I know what you’re thinking, he’s a jerk. Why doesn’t he leave Maggie if he has these strong feelings for Sydney? Well, life is not so easy, it’s no black or white. He’s always upfront about his love for Maggie, and never says he’d leave her for Sydney. There are a lot of things we only find out in the end about his relationship with Maggie. He should have asked Sydney to move out as soon as he started to feel more, but he didn’t. It happens that people make mistakes, and it’s harder when other people are involved, but there’s only little we can do when your heart is telling you something and your mind doesn’t want to hear.

I’m convinced that people come across others in life whose souls are completely compatible with their own. Some refer to them as soulmates. Some refer to it as true love. Some people believe their souls are compatible with more than one person, and I’m beginning to understand how true that might be.

If you’re opposed to love triangles on principle, then don’t read this book. But maybe you just haven’t come across a good book with a reasonable love triangle, so I’d give Maybe Someday a try. I personally believe that there must be more than one person who’s made for you out there. How sad would it be if you never got the chance to meet the only person who could really love you? Or if you lost them? I just hope we have more than one opportunity to feel true love in our lives.

He laughs, then looks back up at me. “Thank you,” he silently mouths. It’s the first time he’s ever mouthed words, and if he weren’t walking away from me right now, I’d be begging for him to do it again. Heart 1. Sydney 0.

I think I said enough. I could go on for hours talking about this book, because there are just so many topics and characters that are discussions worthy, but I’ll stop. I think you hate me for making you read all that (oops).

Just let me know your thoughts if you read it, or if you’ve read it already!

Lots of love

manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

