Recommendation Friday

Thank God It’s Friday! Which means time for a good book! Don’t you know what to read this weekend? No fear, we have some killer recommendations for you. Which one do you want to read this weekend?

Amy’s pick: Wings (Wings #1) by Aprilynne Pike

5056084Summary:

Laurel was mesmerized, staring at the pale things with wide eyes. They were terrifyingly beautiful—too beautiful for words.
Laurel turned to the mirror again, her eyes on the hovering petals that floated beside her head. They looked almost like wings.

In this extraordinary tale of magic and intrigue, romance and danger, everything you thought you knew about faeries will be changed forever.

Why should you read this book? 

Laurel thinks she’s just a normal teenage girl. As far as normal she can be, when she’s been homeschooled all her life and only eat vegetables. But then she moves away from her old house and has to go to school. She befriends this really cute guy, David and everything’s looking good until she discovers a small bump on her back. Days go by, and when she wakes up one morning, the bump is gone and is replaced.. by wings. Completely panicked, she calls the help of David, with the only clue that Laurel was adopted, found on the doorstep of her parents’ house when she was three. They find out with some research that Laurel is an advanced evolution of a plant. What the hell is she gonna do now?! Answers are found, when she makes a trip to her old house and meets Tamani. He tells her she’s a faerie, like him, and born in Avalon. Andwhat happens next.. you should read for yourself :).

I love this book. Laurel is a really awesome character. She’s girly and delicate, but also strong and protective of her friends and family. And two hot boys in a book, is never wrong. We got David, he’s human and normal. Sweet, and good-looking and totally crushing on Laurel. The other way around too, Laurel loves David. But then you meet Tamani and hell, he’s one fine faerie, I’m telling ya. He also messes with Laurel’s brain, and I mean that in the way Laurel starts getting feelings for him. Tamani has them too, always has, but since Laurel is with David, and she loves him, she can’t act on her feelings. It’s a bit of a love triangle, but it’s not a sappy, worse written one. This one is actually good. Apart from the lovestory it has a ton of action and faerie stuff in it, so it’s a really nice read!

Alex’s pick: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

1217100Summary:

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

Why should you read this book?

This book is one of my favorite ones; it’s really dark and different from all the others I have read before. I think the plot is perfectly explained in the summary so I’m not going to repeat that in other words, plus I’m a big fan of getting in a story without knowing everything about it. I have been told that listening to the audio book of this novel enhances the experience, so I’m looking forward to do that soon enough and if you have, let me know!

The main promise of the book is to learn the 13 reasons why Hannah Baker decided to end her life. It’s really intriguing and I finished this book in one sitting, I also cried a lot so if you’re an emotional mess like me, please have some tissues near you and lots of chocolate. But if you’re going to feel uneasy about a book that deals with suicide maybe this book isn’t for you, but I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in this matter.

“You can’t stop the future
You can’t rewind the past
The only way to learn the secret
…is to press play.”

 

 Rheeza’s pick: Beneath the Burn by Pam Godwin

beneath the brun

Summary:

They meet by chance. The timing is wrong.

Three years later, she finds him again, but their separation was poisoned with narcotics and bloodied by enslavement.

Her freedom gambled away, Charlee Grosky escapes the international businessman who held her captive. But his power reaches beyond her protective barriers and threatens everyone she has come to love.

Jay Mayard wears his tortured secrets under his rock god facade. Drugs are his release, even as he seeks to be the man forged of the steel only she can see.

In a celebrity world filled with paparazzi, groupies, and drugs, Jay and Charlee must face their worst fears. When the battle is over, what will be left…Beneath The Burn.

 Why should you read this book?

If you are not a fan of dark romance then put this book down.

Beneath the Burn is intense, emotional, raw and gritty. Jay and Charlee are perfectly imperfect characters.  This is not a Stockholm syndrome book that most of dark romance genre is mostly about. Charlee’s captor is evil and he can burn in hell. The way Jay and Charlee heal each other is the most beautiful thing ever.

“You showed me beauty in survival. I’ll show you strength in healing.”

Their connection is amazing, powerful and steamy. They both have harrowing past but their resilience are so admirable, you cannot help but feel invested on them especially Charlee. She is one of the strongest female characters that I have ever read. No doubt this book is twisted, there are some parts that are highly disturbing but the author was able to balance it with lightness and love. It has a twisted plot but there is an underlying tone of goodness and realness that you cannot help but become obsessed over it and root for the main characters to overcome everything.

Due to some explicit content this book might not be for everyone, but all I can say is that I absolutely loved it. Pam Godwin is an author that I am looking forward to read much more of her work!

Manu’s pick: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

6604794

Summary: 

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Why should you read this book?

This is an heartbreakingly beautiful read. If you know me you know I always recommend this book to everyone because it’s honestly one of the most amazing books I’ve ever read. I found it thanks to Tahereh Mafi (who wrote the Shatter me trilogy), and I had to read it. I wasn’t disappointed. I’ve read it four times and it gets better every single time. Jandy Nelson’s writing is flawless, it’s awe-inspiring. It’s a book about loss, and how much loss changes you. Lennie is only 17, so when her sister dies she has no idea how to cope with grief, she writes poems, sometimes about peaces of her life with her sister Bailey, or whatever comes to her minds, and then she leaves them around town. Those poems are probably my favorite thing about this book.

Who wants to know that the person you love and need the most can just vanish forever.

The Sky Is Everywhere has a special place in my heart, I hope it’ll stay with you too!

Paula’s pick: Easy (Contours of the Heart #1) by Tammara Webber

16056408

Summary:

When Jacqueline follows her longtime boyfriend to the college of his choice, the last thing she expects is a breakup two months into sophomore year. After two weeks in shock, she wakes up to her new reality: she’s single, attending a state university instead of a music conservatory, ignored by her former circle of friends, and failing a class for the first time in her life.

Leaving a party alone, Jacqueline is assaulted by her ex’s frat brother. Rescued by a stranger who seems to be in the right place at the right time, she wants nothing more than to forget the attack and that night – but her savior, Lucas, sits on the back row of her econ class, sketching in a notebook and staring at her. Her friends nominate him to be the perfect rebound.

When her attacker turns stalker, Jacqueline has a choice: crumple in defeat or learn to fight back. Lucas remains protective, but he’s hiding secrets of his own. Suddenly appearances are everything, and knowing who to trust is anything but easy.

Why should you read this book?

Well, firstly Lucas is adorable and also hot. He has tattoos, he is an artist and he is smart. HE HAS EVERYTHING! He is a mysterious an it’s entertaining to see how Jacqueline (not Jackie) unravels him. Plus the story has an element of tension to it and leaves you wanting more, more, more and to get to the end.

I highly enjoyed reading this book, it is a light reading that makes you fall in love but also makes you want to die because you want a guy like Lucas, it’s perfectly understandable though. I personally picture him as Robert Sheehan, what about you?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s