Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

17788401

Summary:

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

Review:

Hello! It’s Alex with another review. I had never read a Colleen Hoover’s book (much to Manu’s dismay), so I think it was about time I did and honestly this book did not disappoint, I loved every part of it.

“Love isn’t always pretty. Sometimes you spend all your time hoping it’ll eventually be something different. Something better. Then, before you know it, you’re back to square one, and you lost your heart somewhere along the way.”

Yes, this book makes you wonder and think about love a whole lot, but not only the good aspects of it, no. We get the ugly and the beautiful part of love, and how it changes people once it’s over; it’s quite a realistic description of it and for that I’m really grateful.

The story is told by two points of view but set in different timelines. Tate Collins’ point of view is set in the present. She just moved in with her brother when she meets airline pilot Miles Archer, the hot guy next door, with his whole baggage full of issues. Miles’ point of view is set six years earlier, when something happened that changed his whole life and completely ruined his idea of love. He believes that the beautiful side of love isn’t worth the pain that comes with the ugly. And going back and forth in time, you’re kept wondering what on earth could have happened that was so horrible, so heartbreaking, to turn a normal teenage boy into a man so broken. Colleen Hoover takes you by the hand and shows you exactly what she means when she says ugly love.

“He’s everywhere. Everything is Miles. That’s how it is when a person develops an attraction toward someone. He’s nowhere, then suddenly he’s everywhere, whether you want him to be or not.”

Obviously, Tate is really attracted to Miles (honestly, I don’t blame her) to the point that she doesn’t care if the only way to have him, somehow, is by starting a no-strings attached relationship. These kinds of relationships aren’t meant to last, and we all know that, so what will happen to them? Will Tate give up on Miles? Will Miles finally open his heart to her and to love? You need to read the book, to find out! But please, have a lot of tissues by your side because it definitely gets ugly for your eyes.

“I’m terrified to lose him for good, so I sell myself short and take what I can from him, even though I know I deserve better.”

I really liked all the characters, Tate was really funny and witty, when she didn’t turn liquid for Miles, that is, but even then she was adorable. And she was real, because for once, we’re not faced with a girl so strong that she won’t come to compromise for the man she has feelings for; you may not agree with her choices but they make her character feel a lot more relatable. Because, let’s be honest, we all do, or will do, stupid things when it comes to love. Miles was the flawed guy you could expect him to be, but to be honest, you’ll die with his point of view, he was so cute and full of life. Together they are just adorable, weird, intense, and to die for, only when they are not fighting the forces of love.

“He laughs with relief. “Yes.” The word yes is so much more beautiful coming from his mouth, laced with that voice. He could probably make any word beautiful. I try to think of a word I hate. I kind of hate the word ox. It’s an ugly word. Too short and clipped. I wonder if his voice could make me love that word. “Say the word ox.” His eyebrow rises, like he’s wondering if he heard me right. He thinks I’m weird. I don’t care. “Just say it,” I tell him. “Ox,” he says, with slight hesitation. I smile. I love the word ox. It’s my new favorite word.”

Also, let’s take a moment to appreciate the side characters; Cap and Tate’s brother,Corbin, both of them we’re so funny and definitely lightened the mood and talked some sense into Miles and Tate. Could we maybe have a book about Corbin? Because I think I really need one.

I could probably quote the whole book just to make a point, but I don’t want to spoil everything, so just read it!

unnamed calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

