Review: Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher

18246727

Summary:

When reclusive novelist Senna Richards wakes up on her thirty-third birthday, everything has changed. Caged behind an electrical fence, locked in a house in the middle of the snow, Senna is left to decode the clues to find out why she was taken. If she wants her freedom, she has to take a close look at her past. But, her past has a heartbeat… and her kidnapper is nowhere to be found. With her survival hanging by a thread, Senna soon realizes this is a game. A dangerous one. Only the truth can set her free.

Review:

I found out this book because Tarryn Fisher wrote Never Never with Colleen Hoover, and since I’m very excited/scared about it (you can read what I think here), I had to read something by her! And so I did… Now I’m 1000% times more scared/excited than before.

I think this book is beautifully written, it pulls you in from the first line and keeps you hooked till the very last one.

That’s why writers write—to say things loudly with ink. To give feet to thoughts; to make quiet, still feelings loudly heard.

Senna is a writer, she’s a really interesting and different character. You won’t necessary like her, but you’ll be intrigued by her.

I’d rather not be looked at if all people are seeing are the things I do, or the things that happen to me instead of who I am.

She’s cold, bitter, and doesn’t believe in happy endings or love. Her mom left her when she was very young and her dad wasn’t exactly the best parental figure. Add to that a tragic event that marked her life, and you get a character who’s angry with the world but also scared of it, rightfully so.

“If there was a God,” I said, “I’d say with confidence that he hates me. Because my life is the sum of bad things. The more people you let in, the more bad you let in.”

One day she wakes up in a strange room. She’s been drugged and kidnapped, but there’s no trace of her captor. She finds Isaac though, tied up on a bed. We don’t know who he is, or what kid of relationship he had with Senna, but we know they shared one. Isaac is the opposite of Senna, he’s generous, caring, he always puts Senna’s well being before his own.

“Humans weren’t made to carry someone else’s weight. We can barely lift our own.” Even as I say it, I don’t entirely believe it. I’ve seen Isaac do things most wouldn’t. But that’s just Isaac. “Maybe lifting someone else’s weight makes yours a little more bearable,” he says. We catch eyes at the same time. I look away first. What can you say to that? It’s romantic and foolish, and I don’t have the heart to argue. It would have been kinder if someone had broken Isaac Asterholder’s heart at some point. Being stuck on love was a real bitch to cure. Like cancer, I think. Just when you think you’re over it, it comes back.

We go back and forth in time through the book, so we get know what happened to Senna, to her first love, Nick, and how she met Isaac. But there isn’t a page of this book without a mystery in it.

“What’s the difference?” I asked him. “Between the love of your life, and your soulmate?”
“One is a choice, and one is not…There is a string that connects us that is not visible to the eye. Maybe every person has more than one soul they are connected to, and all over the world there are these invisible strings. Maybe the chances that you’ll find each and every one of your soulmates is slim. But sometimes you’re lucky enough to stumble across one. And you feel a tug. And it’s not so much a choice to love them through their flaws and through your differences, but rather you love them without even trying. You love their flaws.”

I tried to guess who was the kidnapper but I was thrown off by the revelation in the end! The whole experience in the house was incredible, Senna and Isaac found almost everything they needed to live for months, but what kind of game is it? There are some clues all around the house, about something regarding their past together, (which we know nothing about for half of the novel!) but no one else is supposed to know about that. They’re trapped inside, not that going out it’s a great idea, since apparently they’re in Alaska. Their major fear is the cold, they even get to go out but there’s a fence and there aren’t enough trees to keep them warm forever.

That’s what it’s like to be a prisoner of anything. You want your freedom until you get it, then you feel bare without your chains. I wonder if we ever get out of here, will we feel the loss? It sounds like a joke, but I know how the human mind works.

The kidnapper wants something, but what? Senna is the only one who can figure it out. The ending wasn’t as good as the rest of the novel, in my opinion there wasn’t enough character development (and maybe that was the point), but I loved the story as a whole. I really don’t want to say more, I think the best way to read this book is knowing very little.

“The truth is for the mind,” he says. “Lies are for the heart. So let’s just keep lying.”
I kiss the man I lie to. He kisses me with truth. I am set free.

So, let me know your thoughts if you read this! xo

manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

