Review: Ruby Red (The Ruby Red Trilogy #1) by Kerstin Gier

Ruby Red - Kerstin GierSummary:

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

Review:

A funny, awkward, relatable main character, a hot guy and a timetravelling gene.

Yes, I’m in love with this series. It is, without a doubt, one of my favorite book series I have ever read. Also, the only series I haven’t read in English. The author is German, so I read the books in Dutch and I dislike the fact they changed Gwendolyn’s name to Gwyneth in the English versions. So if you’re Dutch, read the books in Dutch. And since I don’t like the name Gwyneth, I’m going to write Gwendolyn here, I hope you don’t mind.

So Gwendolyn. Where do I start…

It is absolutely fantastic to be reading from her point of view. She’s witty and sarcastic, but so loveable. She suddenly lands into this timetravelling thing without any preparation at all, and it’s literally just funny, reading how she deals with that.

“You have a mother?” Only when I said it did I realize what a silly question it was! For heaven’s sake!
Gideon raised one eyebrow. “What did you expect?” he asked, amused. “You thought I was an android put together by Uncle Falk and Mr. George?”

Ah, there we have Gideon, the dreamy guy of the story. Obviously, Gwendolyn falls head over heels for him from the moment she first sees him. Bad idea. Gideon doesn’t see her like that at all, being too busy swooning over Gwen’s niece, Charlotte, whom he’s been spending all those years training with. But oh well, you can’t help fall in love with a good-looking, green-eyed, timetravelling bad boy, can you?

Oh, and Gwen can see ghosts! Which is very awkward in many situations, since well, you can’t really talk to ghosts with everyone around, they’ll just think you’re a lunatic.

“You were talking to that niche in the wall again, Gwyneth. I saw you.”
“Yes, but it’s my favorite bit of wall, Gordon. I’d hurt its feelings if I didn’t stop and talk to it.”

That’s just Gwendolyn talking to the school ghost who died somewhere in the 18th century. He’s actually quite nice, though he doesn’t remember he died, and also denies it.

There are so many funny scenes in this book, I often laughed out loud and couldn’t stop grinning. These kind of books are such a delight to read. I couldn’t stop reading and in a few hours, I turned the last page. But thank the gods, it’s a trilogy! Hallelujah! More witty Gwendolyn, more Gideon and more timetravelling. The book is a combination of action, adventure and a lovestory and it’s perfectly balanced. Kerstin Gier is such a great writer, she really wrote a beautiful story, and I? I get to put Gwendolyn on my list of favorite female characters. Oh, and before I go, let me introduce you to Leslie. She’s Gwen’s best friend and seriously, everyone needs a best friend like her. They can talk about everything, laugh and cry at the same time and have four hour long phone calls to discuss boys and timetravel issues. You’ll love her immediately.

Ruby Red is also a movie, but the movie was terrible in my opinion. So don’t watch it. Or do, but read the book first. I beg you. Please.

“Ready?”
“Ready when you are.”

amy calloway sisters

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

