Review: Black Lies by Alessandra Torre

black lies

Summary:

Brant: Became a tech billionaire by his twentieth birthday. Has been in a relationship with me for 3 years. Has proposed 4 times. Been rejected 4 times.

Lee: Cuts grass when he’s not banging housewives. Good with his hands, his mouth, and his body. Has been pursued relentlessly by me for almost 2 years, whether he knows it or not.

Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails.If you think you’ve heard this story before, trust me – you haven’t.

Review:

“Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails. I love two men. I fuck two men. If you think you’ve heard this story before, trust me – you haven’t.”

That line is very accurate. This book was different than anything I’ve ever read before. What made it exceptional is the twist that is so elaborately built I’m at awe! The delivery of it was brilliant! Everything about this book was so freaking clever, I have goosebumps thinking about it right now. I’m not going to spoil it because some might want to go in blind. However, even if you guess the twist early on, I don’t think it will ruin the book for you because the way it was set up was so enthralling it was impossible to put down.

“True love makes a person reckless, makes them take risks and make sacrifices. True love tests the boundaries of our person, makes us yearn to be better and fight for the ground we stand on.”

This is a complex love story. It is about loving so intensely that you are willing to sacrifice everything to save it all. It is about secrets, deceptions and betrayal. It is about unwavering love, selflessness and faithfulness. I know, it is contradictory but once you read it, it will all make sense in the end.

I will fight for this love. Lie for it. Steal for it. It’s worthy of that.” 

Black lies is powerful, well written and it will blow your mind. Alessandra Torre, I wanna bow down to you cause seriously how can you write like this? Are you real? Do you have superpowers? Are you human?

I cannot even properly describe what I experienced reading this book so I’m just gonna do this:

Writing: 100/10
Plot: 100000/10
Characters: 8/10 (Lee, everything about him excites me. Brant, he says the most swoon worthy lines and he’s so dreamy *sigh*. Layana, she loves unconditionally and fiercely. Sassy, smart and confident.)
Hotness: 1000000/10 (The sex are sexy as fuck. So so steamy.)
Romance: 9/10
Angst: 8/10 (You’ll probably cry and experience chest pains. It’s a hella emotional book but I love every part of it.)

I’m going to end this review with an advice: Read it with open mind and heart. Hold your judgment because I swear it will be a worthwhile journey.

“This love is worth the unsaid truths. The hidden lies.” 

rheezacalloway sisters

2 thoughts on “Review: Black Lies by Alessandra Torre

Leave a Reply

