Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

16101128

Summary:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Review:

I’ve had this book on my e-reader for quite a while but I never got around to reading it. And how I regret that. Damn, what a great book this is. Tomorrow When The War Began meets The Host. It’s not a fluffy book at all, but with action and drama and war and I love it. I might be masochistic for loving these books, because who are we kidding, they are like a stab in the heart, but I eat books like these for breakfast.

But if I’m it, the last of my kind, the last page of human history, like hell I’m going to let the story end this way. I may be the last one, but I am the one still standing. I am the one turning to face the faceless hunter in the woods on an abandoned highway. I am the one not running but facing. Because if I am the last one, then I am humanity. And if this is humanity’s last war, then I am the battlefield.

Aliens have come to planet Earth, and are planning on destroying the human kind. The first wave killed seven billion of them and in the second wave only the lucky people got away. The third wave was a bug that made them sick and bleed to death. Literally, tears of blood. Some were immune, and they are now fighting for their lives during the fourth wave.

“How do you rid the Earth of humans? You rid the humans of their humanity.”

Cassie is one of them. She lost her mom in the third wave, her dad in the fourth and her brother was taken to a safe place, but she made a promise to him to come get him. When you meet her, she sleeps in a tent in the woods with a rifle next to her. When she sees a wounded soldier, the first sign of life in weeks, and kills him, she realizes that she has to move on. So she does.

When I cry – when I let myself cry – that’s who I cry for. I don’t cry for myself. I cry for the Cassie that’s gone.
And I wonder what that Cassie would think of me.
The Cassie who kills.

But then she gets shot in the leg by a Silencer, one of the Others. Cassie hides, thinking she’s going to die but when she wakes up, she’s in a bed. Meet Evan Walker. Farmer boy, who lost his family too. He’s a good-looking guy, nursing Cassie back to health and promises her to get Cassie’s brother back.

I made a promise. The kind of promise you don’t break because, if you break it you’ve broken part of yourself, maybe the most important part.

He tastes my tears before I can feel them. Where there would be tears, his kiss.
‘I didn’t save you,’ he whispers, lips tickling my eyelashes. ‘You saved me.’

Then there’s another point of view, and that’s Ben’s. When you first meet Ben, he’s dying of the bug from the third wave, but unexpectedly makes it out alive. Ben is in Camp Haven, where kids until the age of fourteen are trained to be soldiers. He is squad leader of his team, that exits out of Flintstone, Poundcake, Dumbo, Tank, Teacup and Ringer. They are later joined by Nugget, a five year old boy. Guess who’s brother that is? Right. And no, those are not their real names.

“I don’t care what the stars say about how small we are. One, even the smallest, weakest, most insignificant one, matters.

This is where you come in, because if you want to know what happens you’ll have to read it yourself. I know that if something like this happened to me, I wouldn’t have a chance of surviving. However, I love reading books like these, and I can’t quite tell you why. Maybe because I love books with action and where love isn’t the center point of the story. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a sucker for the fluffy books, but sometimes a girl needs herself an alien invasion and a couple guns to balance it.

“If the enemy looks just like you, how do you fight him?”

Rick Yancey did an amazing job. And I also hate him for it. Whenever I was reading from Cassie’s point of view it would end in a cliffhanger and go back to Ben’s (and vice versa) and it was LIFE DESTROYING. No seriously, I can’t count the times that I literally groaned out loud because it happened again. B546GNYCUAAwyrt

But even though I as a reader don’t like it, it means Rick did a really good job writing it, because that’s one of the things that makes you want to keep reading.

“The minute we decide that one person doesn´t matter anymore, they´ve won.”

Another sign it’s a great book: I. Can’t. Stop. Thinking. About. It. The story takes up a little spot in your brain and whenever you’re doing mindless tasks, it’s like a door opens and the story slips out of it, making you wreck your brain over it.

tumblr_inline_n9cqiw0XBs1rr95xa

Awesome book, great characters, amazing storyline. I want more.

“Is this how humanity waves good-bye?
Hell no.”

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

