Review: Dearest Clementine by Lex Martin

22351498

Summary:

Twenty-year-old Clementine Avery doesn’t mind being called bitchy and closed off. It’s safe, and after being burned by her high school sweetheart and stalked by a professor her freshman year of college, safe sounds pretty damn good.

Her number one rule for survival? No dating. That is until she accidentally signs up for a romance writing class and needs material for her latest assignment. Sexy RA Gavin Murphy is more than happy to play the part of book boyfriend to help Clem find some inspiration, even if that means making out…in the name of research, of course.

As Gavin and Clem grow closer, they get entangled in the mystery surrounding a missing Boston University student, and Clem unwittingly becomes a possible target. Gavin tries to show Clem she can handle falling in love again, but she knows she has to be careful because her heart’s at stake…and maybe even her life

Review:

I’m a puddle of fluffiness right now. I loved this book so much, I read it in one sit. And hooray for me, there are more books! But first, what is the story about?
Clementine is a senior at Boston University. And a YA author. She has one book published under a pen name and when you first meet her she’s looking for inspiration to write a second one. You also meet Gavin in the first chapter. A sexy but sweet guy who’s an RA in the freshman building. There’s a click, but Clementine doesn’t want to get too close. She’s been through too much in the past, and she’s still not quite over it.

“You tend to cut people out of your life when you get scared or overwhelmed. I think you’re afraid of being judged. Give Gavin a little more credit.”

While she gets closer to Gavin, she also tries to work on her book, and try to forget the people who made her life, well a hell, I can say. All with the help of her two best friends, Harper and Jenna she tries to move on. But in the end, the only one who can help her, is herself. She has to flip the switch.

“I’m tired of being so closed off. It hasn’t made me any stronger or braver. It hasn’t imparted any wisdom or comfort. It has just made me lonely.”

I’m jealous of Clementine. Not only is she dating a total hottie with a body people would kill for, she’s also an author and a lot of people are buying her book. I’m a struggling author myself, with one book published (unfortunately, not selling so well) and am working on a second one, but I’ll be damned, I don’t live in the USA. Anyhow, back to the story. Like Clementine. I totally feel how difficult it is to find inspiration and how once you have something you can’t stop writing. It’s unlike any feeling, I couldn’t describe it. But apart from that, I love Clementine’s character. I mean, yeah she makes mistakes, but we all do and we all learn from it. She’s sweet, shy but knows how to talk back, and has a great sense of humor. She’s the kind of girl I could be friends with.

“I think I’ve been waiting for the big gesture, the one where the guy stands in the rain and declares his love or makes some scene at a football game that ends with the crowd doing the slow clap. It’s official. Romantic comedies have ruined me.”

Then there’s the guy of the story, Gavin. The only thing I don’t like about Gavin is his name. It’s not making my knees jelly or anything, but names aren’t their characters, so I’ve found out and damn can I have Gavin as my boyfriend, please?

My eyes sweep up, and my stomach instantly lurches. He’s tall with dark, shaggy hair that flops in his face. Intense green eyes stare back. he smiles a dazzling, megawatt grin, and my chest clenched at the thought that he probably has lickable abs. Oh, for the love of god, Clem, get a grip.

He’s not only hot as hell, but also sweet, caring, funny, hard-working and protective and he studies journalism. What is it with me and falling for guys who study journalism aka Ryke Meadows. Maybe because I study journalism myself… anyhow, he’s a guy who can write and that gives him bonus points. Oh, and he’s a musician and nothing makes my knees go weak more than a guy who can strum some strings and sing. He even wrote Clementine a song, I mean if that doesn’t say he’s a keeper than I don’t know what will.

“You were the most beautiful girl I’d ever seen. You have always mesmerized me.”

“Funny you should mention that because you’re my favorite subject. I could study you all day.”

I love how Clementine and Gavin act around each other. Totally heart eyes with goofy grins as a cherry on top.

And can we talk about Lex Martin for a sec? If I didn’t already think she was awesome when I finished the book, I found out she thanked Krista and Becca Ritchie in her Acknowledgments and I went kind of crazy. I know it’s only the first book I read, but I find her work very promising so I’m definitely going to read her other books.

I squealed and laughed and I might have cried (maybe, there’s no prove that I did) while reading this book. I had heard some rumors that people didn’t like it, but that just proves we’re all different and like different things. I’m definitely recommending Dearest Clementine to all you who love cute and fluffy yet hot NA books. In the meanwhile, I’m just waiting for my Gavin to come along and I don’t know marry me, maybe.

“I’m doing this in the name of academics. You need inspiration? You’re looking at it. Now shut up and let me kiss you.”

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

