Review: Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty

138202

Summary:

“My parents suck ass. Banning me from the phone and restricting my computer privileges are the most tyrannical parental gestures I can think of. Don’t they realize that Hope’s the only one who keeps me sane? . . . I don’t see how things could get any worse.”

When her best friend, Hope Weaver, moves away from Pineville, New Jersey, hyperobservant sixteen-year-old Jessica Darling is devastated. A fish out of water at school and a stranger at home, Jessica feels more lost than ever now that the only person with whom she could really communicate has gone. How is she supposed to deal with the boy- and shopping-crazy girls at school, her dad’s obsession with her track meets, her mother salivating over big sister Bethany’s lavish wedding, and her nonexistent love life?

Review: 

The summary sounded pretty cool, so did the title so I thought I’d give it a try. But I was at page 100 or something and I still hadn’t felt anything. I was just reading it. I thought about giving up, because there was no way I was going to like it, but I thought: no I have to write an honest review so let’s finish the book. After page 150 or something I finally started enjoying reading the book. So, I’m glad I finished it and I can now give you an honest review about it.

And I will be honest. This book won’t blow your mind, leave you crying in a corner clutching to your teddy bear or will have you hyperventilating because they finally kissed. Nope, none of that’s going to happen. It will take a while before you’re into the story (with me that was definitely 150 pages and the book only has like 200-something pages), and then it still won’t rock your world. I liked it, but not in a way that I’m going to scream about it in caps lock and use the famous ‘alsdjkfdkjsf’ to describe my feelings. It’s just a nice read for when you’re on vacation and you have decided to spent all your time reading, yes then in that case it’s a good book. But this is my opinion, if you have a different one, that’s totally fine. Free country here, right.

“You can only be in a bad mood for so long before you have to face up to the fact that it isn’t a bad mood at all; it’s just your sucky personality.”

Okay, so the book is part of a series about Jessica Darling, who by the way, hates her last name. And she’s not so fond of it either when people call her Jessie. The story is written with journal entries from her and e-mails to her best friend Hope. It made me think of that book by Jaclyn Moriarty, Becoming Bindy Mackenzie.
Hope is the trigger of this story. She moved away to Tennessee, leaving poor Jessica alone in Pineville with the Clueless Crew (three very dumb girls who eat nothing but magazines during lunch and are cheerleaders. I think that says enough about them, doesn’t it?), and all her other boring classmates, like Scotty who has a crush on her but it isn’t likewise, and the pothead, weed-smoking Marcus.

“The minute our correspondence becomes obligatory, there’s no point in keeping touch at all.”

Jessica describes her daily life in her journal and in the e-mails to Hope. But it’s all so… boring? I was waiting so long for a plot and now I’m still not quite sure if there was one. I think there was. Not that I’m going to tell you, because I would spoil the book and you wouldn’t have to read it at all (not that you’re missing anything by not reading this book).
Don’t get me wrong, I like Jessica’s character and how she writes. But nothing big happens. And it’s okay if it’s just about characters (I mean, so are Rainbow Rowell’s books and I love hers), but it’s all a bit empty, in my opinion.

However, despite my negative comments on this, I picked up the second book nonetheless. It was slightly better than the first one, but I decided not to read the other books. For now, that is. Maybe I will continue reading them in the future…

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

