Review: Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

23383567

Summary:

Best friends since they could walk.

In love since the age of fourteen.

Complete strangers since this morning.

He’ll do anything to remember.

She’ll do anything to forget.

Review:

I’m a mess. No, seriously, I read this book in a matter of hours (it’s unfortunately very short, only 140 pages), because I took a deep breath when I started it, and I felt like I couldn’t release it until I finished it. Well, the ending just killed me, so no problem. I think the best way to read Never Never is knowing as little as you can, so I didn’t give anything away about the plot. I just shared my feelings towards the characters and my idea of them.

How odd to be made of flesh, balanced on bone, and filled with a soul you’ve never met.

The writing style is amazing, Hoover and Fisher perfectly match together, they’re synchronized. If I hadn’t read other books by them I wouldn’t have noticed the differences between them. But I could tell right away who wrote what.

Why don’t I recognize my own name?

Or where I am?

Or what I am?

As the book starts, we’re literally thrown into the story; Charlie, suddenly wakes up in a class, her heart racing, people talking with her, she looks around confused and panicked, but she doesn’t know who she is, that her name is Charlie, what she looks like, who the people around her are. She recognizes that she’s in a classroom, but she doesn’t know if it’s high school or college. Everything is fast paced, Charlie decides to pretend, she tries to understands what’s going on, where she has to go, who she is. She follows the people who talk with her, and by lunch she finds out she has a boyfriend, Silas, who looks at her with wide eyes that mirrors her own…

I don’t know how I know, but even without being able to recall anything, I seem to have a immediate sense of what assumptions of mine are accurate and which are not. It could just be process of elimination, rather than intuition or memory.

Silas is experiencing exactly the same memory loss as Charlie. Charlie makes Silas confess that he doesn’t remember anything and they decide to help each other, no one would believe them, and try and figure who they are and what happened to them.

As I stand behind him and wait, I study him. In his clothes and hair he wears the cool look of a guy who doesn’t care, but he carries his shoulders like he cares too much.

Silas tries, so hard, to make everything easier for Charlie and himself, he’s scared but he shows confidence. He and Charlie are so different, he’s bright and full of hope, while Charlie is darker. This is definitely a reflection of two writers working together, because Fisher wrote Charlie’s povs and Hoover wrote Silas’s.

She’s beautiful, but in a shameful way. One I’m not sure I’m supposed to appreciate. Everything about her is captivating, like the aftermath of a storm. People aren’t supposed to get pleasure out of the destruction Mother Nature is capable of, but we want to stare anyway. Charlie is the devastation left in the wake of a tornado.

As they work together on this mystery, they find out a lot about themselves and their relationship, things they don’t like, things they didn’t believe they were capable of, they feel like completely different people from the old Charlie and Silas.

It’s fascinating how easily I can read her expression now in comparison to earlier this morning. Her eyes are like two open books and I suddenly want to devour every page.

There’s chemistry between them, they’re stragers but they understand each other, they know how to read each other. Silas knows how to push Charlie’s buttons, and so does Charlie…

Me: Silas, I need a ride.

I wait again, growing irritated with his delay in response. I am impatient, I think.

Me: There’s a guy named Brian who’s texting me. He’s really flirty. I can ask him for a ride if you’re busy…

My phone rings a second later.

Silas: Hell no. OMW!

I smile.

Charlie is like this, she gets what she wants. She’s not an angel now, and slowly she finds out she wasn’t one even before the memory loss. Neither was Silas, though he’s really a cute dork now. Even in a situation like the one they’re in, he can make Charlie laugh; he’s the kind of guy who makes stupid jokes, who doesn’t care if he looks stupid as long as he can make her laugh. I fell a little more in love with him with every page I turned.

“Let’s get out of here,” he says. “Go do something that doesn’t belong to Charlie and Silas. Something that’s ours.” “You’re talking about us like we’re body invaders.” Silas closes his eyes and tilts his head back. “You have no idea how many times a day I think about invading your body.” 

The plot is brilliant, there’s so much suspance and mystery. You’ll brainstorm through the whole book to figure out everything but there are some plot twists that will throw you off. The ending is a cliffhanger, but a good one, the exciting one, the one that leaves you wondering and wanting to re-read the book to see if you missed something important.

I want to know what it feels like to love Charlie.

We don’t know when the second book is coming out, Hoover and Fisher are still working on it; I hope it’s soon because I’m freaking out trying to understand. I hope you’ll enjoy this read as much as I did! Good luck!

P.S. am I the only one who thinks this could make an amazing movie?

manuela calloway sisters

One thought on “Review: Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

  1. Pingback: Review: Never Never: Part Two by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher | Calloway Books

Leave a Reply

