Review: Vendetta by Autumn Karr & Sienna Lane

18331733

Summary:

I am not a good man.

I have lied and cheated and stolen. I’ve decided between life or death, like it was my due. None of it matters, not anymore. These are not my sins.

I see her raise her hands, the dark metal she’s clutching reflecting the moonlight. Her finger trembles as she cocks the gun pointed at me. Her eyes are cold, determined, but I know.

I know her.

My name is Devon Andre and I confess my sin. I am not a good man because this is the woman I love.

She pulls the trigger.

Review:

Devon is an Andre, Leighton is a Moore. Her family killed his. They are forbidden to love each other. Her dad would kill him, his uncle would take him away. The odds are not in their favour. What would you do when the love of your life is someone you can never, ever be with?

Of course she was made for me. I never doubted it.  Because life couldn’t get any more fucked up otherwise.

Hi, hi Amy here! I saw the summary of this book and I thought: yes I have to read this! I read it in like two days, whenever I had a spare moment, it was that good! The summary doesn’t say much, but it pulls a trigger (pun intended), however I’m still going to tell you what the book is about, in case you’re not convinced yet.

The Andres and the Moores have been in a mob war in the city of Boston since, well, as long as everyone can remember. They try to stay away from each other, but the boss’s daughter of the Moores, Leighton, is a curious little thing. One night, she’s trying to spy on the Andres, one of them is Devon. Leighton gets caught, knocked out and Devon brings her to his house and locks her up, away from her family, but also out of reach of his uncle’s men. Now, Leighton and Devon have seen each other around over the years so they are familiar with each other, but more than a nod and an eyelock never happened.

But the longer Leighton is locked up there, the more the tension between the two grows. “Kill her or fuck her and then kill her,” one of Devon’s uncle’s men said to him, but Devon does neither of those, until finally the tension snaps and Devon gives in, with that first kiss.

As with every drug, I craved more. It’s the forbidden fruit; I know that now. I resisted her for so long, and so stubbornly, and it was bound to happen, one way or another. And when it did, I couldn’t get enough of it.

It breaks your heart, when you read about how two young people who love each other can’t be together. I don’t neccessarily love Leighton’s character, though she’s well written. Devon is different, I feel like you get to know more about him, even though you read from both point of views.

The longer Leighton is locked up there, the closer she gets to her death. Because Devon has to kill her, and she knows it. There’s no way out for her, except in a bodybag.

I know I have an expiration date. Now I just need to find out how much time I have.

“I’m not a good man, Leighton,” he continues, his voice pure acid. “I’m not a hero. I brought you here. Me.”

But when Devon softens up to her, so does she. She’s not constantly thinking of escaping again, until she realizes what is happening. You know the saying: love is blind.

My love for Devon is my greatest weakness. It has me confused, blinded. Determined to become a martyr for a crime committed by my family. Weak. This is not who I am.

Whether she dies or lives, she still loses. If she dies, she loses her life. If she escapes, she loses the only guy she’s ever loved. Time is running out. Get your head in the game, Leighton. What’s it going to be?

She cocks the gun and shoots.

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

