Review: World After (Penryn & the End of Days #2) by Susan Ee

12983100

 

Summary:

In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what’s left of the modern world.

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?

Review: 

Hey, it’s Alex. I’m here trying to get over World After. Not seriously, I just finished the book and this is basically my reaction:

UfsKJ

I thought I loved Angelfall (the first book in the series), but man, World After is something else. I enjoyed every bit of it, I simply couldn’t get enough. The writing, the characters, the plot, the world, the never-ending action, everything. This review is mildly spoiler-y since it’s the second installment, so proceed with caution. But if you want to know better what this series is about, you can check my Angelfall review here.

The story picks up just after the end of Angelfall, this means Penryn and her family are with the Resistance. I was utterly excited about that because I was really curious about how they managed things and if there were a good possibility at kicking the angels out of Earth. Turns out reality didn’t meet my expectations, I was extremely disappointed at almost every member of the Resistance, with the exception of Dee-Dum. I love these two a lot, they’re funny, loyal and incredibly smart.

“I’m gonna be sick,” I said
“I’m ordering you not to,” says Obi.
“Ah, don’t say that,” says Dee-Dum. “She’s a born rebel. She’ll puke just to make a point.

We get to know more Penryn’s family and I still don’t know what to think about them. Her mom is insane, but at the same time you can see how she cares for them, regardless of her mind’s state. And Paige, poor thing, she didn’t choose to be like that. I pity her so much. Especially because Penryn always talks about how good of a person she used to be. All in all, the best thing that happened while Penryn was with the Resistance was her relationship with the sword and Raffe’s memories. What a sassy sword, I love her.

“Come on, admit it, Pooky Bear,” I said to the sword. “You love your new look. All the other swords will be jelaous.”

When Penryn leaves the Resistance with Clara and her mom it’s soon clear that they’re going to get in trouble again. What I did not expect is them ending up in Alcatraz. That part of the book was extremely interesting to me, of course we learn how the scorpions are made (as if it weren’t obvious). But we also learn some real valuable and important information, thanks to Doc and Penryn being one of Beliel’s girl. We now can form a much clear image of what the angels are doing on Earth and what Beliel had in store for their future.

All of this leads to Penryn finally meeting Raffe again and I became a mess. I was grinning like an idiot to their easy banter, sobbing like a baby whenever they brought up the impossibility of their relationship and loving every moment of it.

“She missed you,” I say in a whisper.
“Did she?” His voice is a soft caress. His gaze into my eyes is so intense that I swear he sees straight into my soul.
“Yes.” Warmth flushes my cheeks. I… “She thought about you all the time.”
The candlelight flickers a soft glow along his jawline, along his lips. “I hated losing her.” His voice is a low growl. “I hadn’t realized just how attached I’d gotten.” He reaches and moves a strand of wet hair out of my face. “How dangerously addictive she could be.”

I shipped them in Angelfall, but in this one I almost had a seizure every time they talked. My feelings were scattered everywhere. I need to know what is going to happen to them next and what’s going to happen to the World After, but since End of Days won’t be out until May the 12th, I’m going to spend the rest of the days re-reading all my favorite Ranryn quotes.

“I glance over at Raffe to see if he’s appreciating the same thing. But he’s watching me instead.”

Even though some questions were answered in World After, we still need to learn a lot more. I can’t wait to see how Penryn’s journey ends, give me the End of Days now, please. What are your favorite moments of this book? I think mine may be when Raffe stops swimming without a doubt when Penryn asks him to or the beach house moments.

That’s it, I’m going to go and try to breathe properly again.  Stay badass like Penryn and be sure your solutions usually involve ripping, tearing, kicking or stabbing, xx

alex calloway sisters

 

 

Leave a Reply

