Review: Easy Virtue (Virtue #1) by Mia Asher

21536151

Summary;

Love is selfish…

My name is Blaire.
I’m the bad girl.
The other woman.
The one who never gets the guy in the end.

I’m the gold digger.
The bitch.
The one no one roots for.
The one you love to hate.

I hate myself too…

Everyone has a story. Are you ready for mine?

Review:

Good morning folk, it’s manu here, with another intense read!

I picked this one up because I loved Arsen and I was curious since Asher seems to write really unique books. And, wow, wasn’t it different. Easy Virtue was a really difficult book to read, and even more to review, but I’ll try!

What is love? I don’t know. I’ve never had it. Is it even real? No, I don’t think so. I mean, how can I believe in love when I’ve never witnessed it? When it seems to only exist in books and films, or in the lives of people more fortunate than me? Trust me, I know. Love is my personal chimera.

Meet Blaire. She was neglected by her parents, they were never there for her, but only gave her gifts she never asked for. She was bullied in school because she was chubby, and her mom “steals daddies”. She spent most of her childhood alone, crying herself to sleep, until she grew up. It feels like she’s seaking her personal vendetta against all those who wronged her, trying to prove to herself that no, love does not exist, or at least that it’s not necessary.

The moment I realized that love wasn’t necessary to one’s survival I became free. No one would have the power to hurt me again. That realization set me free. If love had been enough, the love I had given my parents would have been enough for them. Enough for them to want to love me back. Enough for them to want to give our family a chance.

Blaire is definitely not your usual heroine, she’s more the one you hate while reading a book, but reading her POV was something different.

Though beautiful on the outside, I felt ugly, so very ugly on the inside.

She grew up from that chubby girl to a young woman with a body men would kill for, and she knows it, and more importantly she uses it. Blaire is a gold digger, she works as a weitress in an exclusive restaurant which provides her of plenty of rich men, she makes them chase her, and then she stays in a relationship with them, if they give her enough gifts and money, that is, until she gets bored or someone with more money shows up. She doesn’t believe in love so she finds attractive men who can let her live in the luxury she’s grown accustomed to. But when her current boyfriend gets bored and “breaks” her heart, she’s suddenly on her own. No worries, a really wealthy men has already set his eyes on her but she’ll have to wait a couple of weeks for him. And that’s when she meets Ronan, or better, she falls into his arms, literally.

“You can let go of me now.” He laughs as he releases me, the warmth of his touch gone. “My bad.” I turn to look at him and watch the stranger smirks in a way that totally negates his apology. The small smile makes his eyes crinkle at the corners, a complete telltale. The asshole totally liked it. I run a hand down my dress, smoothing it. “Thank you for-” “Actually, don’t worry about it. This has been the best part of my day.” Don’t smile…don’t smile…I smile. How could I not?

Ronan is refreshing, in a world of lies, he’s honest and kind, he can make Blaire laugh and he likes her, not only her body. The problem is…he’s not rich. But when she meets him again with his little nephew, who invites her to his birthday party she can’t say no. She promises herself that she’s only taking this one day to live a different life, a life in which love exist.

“Hey, Ronan! Stop drooling over the poor girl and help me get the grill going!” a man shouts. Everyone laughs around us, which makes me blush even more. He winks at me before letting go of my hand. “All right, all right. Don’t get your panties in a bunch! I’m coming. Everyone, meet Blaire, my future wife.”

Ronan is a flirt, he’s charming and he knows it, and that makes him only the more lovable. Blaire can’t resist him and as the days go by and they get to know each other, he seems to see right through her. He’s starting to get under Blaire’s skin, making her feel things she never wanted to feel.

But a part of me wonders…Is love really so bad? Is wanting something as beautiful and simple as love such an awful thing? It must be because it hurts. My heart hurts. The beauty of this is driving me fucking insane. What will happen to me when this ends?

As she starts to see the beauty of love, Blaire is also overwhelmed with the fear of losing it.

Fear is a prison. A feeling of crippling power that spreads darkness within. It blinds. It questions. It takes over every decision we make, coloring it with doubt. Fear, for most of us, rules our lives, and it’s only when you conquer it that you can truly live your life to the fullest.

Unfortunatly Blaire isn’t even close to conquer her fears. I really, really liked this story, what it made me feel, and how it made me see things differently, but I only gave it 3 stars because there was something missing. I would have preferred it to be a stand alone, as it is, there wasn’t a true character development, Blaire was stuck with her fears. I’m sure the second book will alleviate this uncertanty I’m feeling. So, if you’re not sure about reading it, wait till the next book comes out and I’ll let you know, otherwise go read it please I need someone to talk to about it!

manuela

calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

