Review: Kaleidoscope Hearts by Claire Contreras

23545800

Summary:

He was my older brother’s best friend.
He was never supposed to be mine.
I thought we would get it out of our system and move on.

One of us did.
One of us left.

Now he’s back, looking at me like he wants to devour me. And all those feelings I’d turned into anger are brewing into something else, something that terrifies me.
He broke my heart last time.
This time he’ll obliterate it.

Review:

Hello loves, it’s manu with yet another review of a book I loved (I haven’t read a book I didn’t like in so long I don’t even remember what it feels like). This is the first Contreras’s book I read but, boy, can she write!

Life goes on, but why does it have to go on without him?

This is a book about second (or better third) chances. Elle lost her fiancé, Wyatt, and after one year she feels it’s time to go on with her life, even if it hurts, even if she doesn’t want to. She’s a successful artist, and owns a gallery/studio where she has projects involving kids going on. Elle has always wanted to work with kids. Help them deal with their tough lives and problems by using art.

It is so not good to see him, though. Over the years, I’ve learned a lot about Oliver Hart, but the only one thing worth remembering, is that he’s bad for my health.

So, Elle moves from the house she shared with Wyatt and to her brother’s, Vic. That’s when she sees Oliver again. Oliver is Vic’s best friend, and so they’ve known each other since they were very young. We know something happened between them, and you’ll find out exactly what thanks to some chapters from Oliver’s POV which are set when they were younger.

Oliver nods, stuffing his hands in his pockets. He does this thing where he looks down at his feet and lifts his head just slightly so that he’s looking at me through his lashes. It’s sexy and alluring and makes me feel uncomfortable about the way my heart stirs at the sight.

Oliver is a very, very hot doctor with longish hair. Seriously, that should be enough to make you want to read this book. But anyway, he’s funny and he knows prefectly well the effect he has on Elle. He was kind of a player when he was in college, but mainly he was focused on his career, he always wanted to find some sort of stability in his life before brining someone into it. There are reasons behind what he does and I’ll let you find out by yourself. But at one point when he was 19 years old, suddenly Elle wasn’t a kid anymore she was 16 and a lot more interesting than the girls he was used to.

“Would you kiss me, Oliver?” My heart was beating so fast, I couldn’t think. My lips parted slightly, and I nodded. I was always the chaser, the one sweet-talking girls, but this girl always seemed to have me at a loss for words. 

Oliver didn’t want anything to happen between them because she was his best friend’s little sister, so obiously she was off-limits, she’s too good for any of them. Add to that that he doesn’t want a relationship, even if he really, really likes her, and you have something that wasn’t meant to happen just yet. Hearts were broken and Elle soon was engaged to Wyatt. But now with Oliver begging her for “Just one date” she doesn’t know how to stay away from him. Plus his jokes are A+

“If I were an enzyme,” he says, his lips, a soft tickle over my ear. “I’d be DNA helicase,” he continues, as he trails his lips over my neck. My eyes flutter shut, and I grip on to my knees. “So I could unzip your genes.”

I really loved their relationship, I loved how they changed in all those years but nothing changed when they were together. It’s easy for them to be together, they can talk openly about everything, they laugh, they know what the other likes, they simply know each other and there’s a lot of fire between them so if they only wanted they could burn the world down.

I don’t want to say that I feel complete when I’m with him, because I’m complete without him, but when I’m with him I feel like a better version of myself. And I think that’s what has always drawn me to Oliver. He makes me feel good about who I am.

But is Oliver ready to put Elle before his career? Is he ready to tell the truth to Victor? Is Elle ready to move on from Wyatt? Is she ready to risk her heart once again?

“What are you doing here?”

“Picking up a heart,”

This was a really emotional read; it shows you two different kinds of loss, and the different ways in which Elle heals, her heart is broken but she’s not fragile. She might be scared, but she’s a fighter. Something that I really liked is that even though Wyatt was often on Elle’s mind, he wasn’t romanticized because he died, they loved each other but it never was that love. He wasn’t the one for Elle and she knew it, so even if she feels guilty for moving on, she knows it’s the right thing. I also loved that Oliver wasn’t a  jerk; yes, he broke Elle’s heart once, but it wasn’t so simple, and Elle never told him how she truly felt.

“The hearts I make are shattered, but whole. They’re kaleidoscopes that beam under the sun. They signify hope in love when you’ve lost it because, like love, you can look at a kaleidoscope a thousand different ways and find something new every time. Shattered or not, if you look carefully enough, you’ll find something beautiful in them, and all beautiful things are a little broken.”

So I really, really hope you’re gonna read this book. It’s definitelty worth the time.

manuela calloway sisters

 

One thought on “Review: Kaleidoscope Hearts by Claire Contreras

  1. Pingback: Review: Paper Hearts (Hearts #2) by Claire Contreras | Calloway Books

Leave a Reply

