Review: Teardrop by Lauren Kate

16070143

Summary:

Never, ever cry…

Seventeen-year-old Eureka won’t let anyone close enough to feel her pain. After her mother was killed in a freak accident, the things she used to love hold no meaning. She wants to escape, but one thing holds her back: Ander, the boy who is everywhere she goes, whose turquoise eyes are like the ocean. And then Eureka uncovers an ancient tale of romance and heartbreak, about a girl who cried an entire continent into the sea. Suddenly her mother’s death and Ander’s appearance seem connected, and her life takes on dark undercurrents that don’t make sense. Can everything you love be washed away?

Review:

Hello, you don’t know me yet, but I am Savanna! I’m best friends with Amy and since she didn’t have time to write a review this week, I’m here to take her place. I’m just as big of a booknerd as she is, so I’m glad to write this review!

Okay, so, I saw a girl reading this book on the train, and was immediately blown away by the beautiful cover. I mean, look at it, ain’t it pretty? Won’t it be gorgeous on your bookshelf?
I’ll admit, I judged this book by it’s cover. I mean, I looked up the reviews and summary to see what it was about, but most reviews were pretty bad. I decided to give this book a chance anyway, and boy am I glad I did.

Once you get past the fact that Eureka is quite a strange name (like, what did her parents think “Eureka, it’s a girl! Wait, Eureka makes quite a nice name, let’s name our girl Eureka.”), you’ll find out soon enough that it’s a pretty exciting book. Like, the prologue tells the story about the murder of Eureka’s mom (and Eureka, ’till Ander decides to save her), if that doesn’t drag you in a book, I don’t know what will.

You might want to read Teardrop in a quiet place though. Eureka is instantly intrigued by Ander, and you know Ander is part of the group who murdered Eureka’s mom. You will find yourself (mentally) screaming at her. For instance:

“You could help me!” she heard herself shout at the stranger. He was the hottest guy she’d ever yelled at.

And you will be like: “No! You stupid fool! He might be handsome but run. Run far, run hard. You’re in the track team, you should be able to do that.”

Lots of reviews have trouble with Eureka. People seem to think she’s a bit whiny. And I guess she is, but it really didn’t bother me. Especially the first time I read Teardrop. Plus, I think it’s quite understandable that she’s a bit confused. Your mom is dead, your stepmom is a bitch, your father tries to drown his sorrows cooking and you’ve got two children much younger than you in your house. Also your life long friend is acting strange and you’re being stalked by a hot stranger. Seriously, give the girl a break!

Stars grounded her. Their distance offered perspective when she couldn’t see beyond her own pain.

If I have to point out a ‘bad’ thing it’s that the book is a bit slow in the middle part. I mean, you start on a high, but then there is a period in which nothing much happens. The ending makes totally up for it though, and so do the funny bits.

He used to have a hellish wife named Rita, but she’d died about a decade ago and Big Jean didn’t get around too well on his own. When Hurricane Rita bulldozed the bayou, Big Jean’s house was hit hard. Eureka had heard his hoarse voice say, twenty times, “The only thing meaner than the first Rita was the second Rita. One stayed in my house, the other tore it down.”

So, I really loved Teardrop! It ends on a high and I really can’t wait to find out what’ll happen next. Luckily Waterfall is finally here, so as soon as I get that one, I’ll be very happy.

Maybe you’ll see me for another review again in the future and you can always follow me on twitter @luminoussmiles.

Leave a Reply

