Review: On Dublin Street (On Dublin Street #1) by Samantha Young


Summary:

Jocelyn Butler has been hiding from her past for years. But all her secrets are about to be laid bare…

Four years ago, Jocelyn left her tragic past behind in the States and started over in Scotland, burying her grief, ignoring her demons, and forging ahead without attachments. Her solitary life is working well—until she moves into a new apartment on Dublin Street where she meets a man who shakes her carefully guarded world to its core.

Braden Carmichael is used to getting what he wants, and he’s determined to get Jocelyn into his bed. Knowing how skittish she is about entering a relationship, Braden proposes an arrangement that will satisfy their intense attraction without any strings attached.

But after an intrigued Jocelyn accepts, she realizes that Braden won’t be satisfied with just mind-blowing passion. The stubborn Scotsman is intent on truly knowing her… down to the very soul.

Review:

*breaks through your window**shoves the book in your face* READ IT NOW! Seriously, it is so good nothing I can say will make justice to my experience of reading it! If you can’t tell, well yes I am absolutely, completely, truly in love with On Dublin Street series! The writing-style of Samantha Young was everything. It was vivid, clean and will hook you right from the start! This book made me laugh, melt, squee, cry, and fan myself. My emotions were all over the place but I was so absorbed with the story! It’s addictive… I don’t want it to end! AND OH GOD CAN WE TALK ABOUT BRADEN CARMICHAEL!!!

He is one of my favorite male book characters ever! That’s why this book is kinda refreshing for me because the hero is not the unfeeling or detached asshole that most NA books are into. I mean look at that fucking cookie, I’m in love!
tumblr_n6wvypVmbA1tceusxo1_400

“I know you love me, Jocelyn, because there’s no fucking way I can be this much in love with you, and not have you feel the same way. It’s not possible.”

His patience, determination, compassion and love for Jocelyn is so admiring that I am swooning like crazy for him. At times, I got frustrated with Jocelyn but he was so perfect for her, he never gave up though she made it very difficult for him. Don’t get me wrong I also adore her, she’s funny, snarky and awesome! The journey before they reach their HEA is angsty and yup I cried but goddamn if it isn’t worth it! I love seeing their character development because it was so well done. And jesus christ it was filled with sizzling hot times! The intimacy was so intense!


Plus, all the characters in this series are really really really special. They are the heart and soul of it to be honest. There was something about them and their friendship that the readers can’t help but be invested on! Overall, it has amazing writing, witty and entertaining dialogue, great story and memorable characters! What more can you ask for in a book?

My favorite quote:

“Sometimes the clouds weren’t weightless. Sometimes their bellies got dark and full. It was life. It happened. It didn’t mean it wasn’t scary, or that I wasn’t still afraid, but now I knew that as long as I was standing under it with Braden beside me when those clouds broke, I’d be alright.”

rheeza calloway sisters

One thought on “Review: On Dublin Street (On Dublin Street #1) by Samantha Young

  1. Pingback: Moonlight on Nightingale Way (On Dublin Street #1) by Samantha Young | Calloway Books

Leave a Reply

