Review: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

 

13206760

Summary:

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Review:

Hey, Alex here, continuing her lunar trip. I thought Cinder was refreshing, emotional and well-written, but Scarlet was something else.

“She did not know that the wolf was a wicked sort of animal, and she was not afraid of him.”

In this second installment we have so much going on; I couldn’t put my book down. Every time I would think ‘okay now, that was enough, time to sleep’, something big would happen or we would get some new character’s point of view and it was physically impossible for me to stop.

Let me introduce you to Scarlet, one of our four main female characters, and I will always love you is probably being played somewhere. She’s so badass, strong willed, funny and takes no one’s shit. I loved her from the first chapter and that made the whole experience so much better.

“I just think we shouldn’t judge her, or anyone, without trying to understand them first. That maybe we should get the full story before jumping to conclusions. Crazy notion, I know.”

Scarlet’s grandmother is missing, everyone thinks she’s dead but Scarlet knows she’s been taken and she’s determined to find her. When she meets Wolf, a shy street-fighter, she strikes him as odd but she soon realises that he may have some sort of connection with her grand-mère’s disappearance. Scarlet and Wolf moments left me all tingly inside, they are such a cute dorks.

“I could win against six,” he said. “Any more than that and it could be a close call.”
Scarlet smirked. “You’re not in danger of low self-esteem, at least.”
“What do you mean?”
“Nothing at all.” She kicked a stone from their path. “How about you and … a lion?”
“A cat? Don’t insult me.”
She laughed, the sound sharp and surprising. “How about a bear?”
“Why, do you see one out there?”
“Not yet, but I want to be prepared in case I have to rescue you.”
The smile she’d been waiting for warmed his face, a glint of white teeth flashing. “I’m not sure. I’ve never had to fight a bear before.”

I thought this book was only going to be Scarlet’s story and that along the way they would find Cinder, but no, we pick up Cinder’s storyline just the way we left it. For that, I’m forever grateful, Cinder is growing so much on me, and I want her to find happiness and get back to her rightful place. She is finally willing to take Queen Levana down and I’m so proud of her, plus I can’t wait for Kai and Cinder’s so well-deserved reunion.

“I don’t see that her being cyborg is relevant.”

While Cinder tries to escape from jail, she meets Captain Carswell Thorne, a rogue spaceship cadet of the American Republic. He’s honestly my favourite male character in this series so far, and it will probably stay this way. His brotps with Cinder and Iko are gold. Yes, Iko, she’s back in an inusual way, but she’s back.

“A relieved grin filled up Thorne’s face. “We’re having another moment, aren’t we?”

“If by a moment, you mean me not wanting to strangle you for the first time since we met, then I guess we are.” Cinder slumped back on the floor. “Although maybe I’m just too exhausted to want to strangle anybody.”

Somewhere along Cinder’s escape from the authorities and Scarlet’s search for her grandmother, their paths collide. And that’s all I’m going to say because I don’t want to spoil anything if you haven’t read the series, but you completely should, it won’t disappoint you.

Have a nice Sunday xx

unnamed calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

