Review: The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon

23252517

Summary:

If I tell you right up front, right in the beginning that I lost him, it will be easier for you to bear. You will know it’s coming, and it will hurt. But you’ll be able to prepare.

Someone found him in a laundry basket at the Quick Wash, wrapped in a towel, a few hours old and close to death. They called him Baby Moses when they shared his story on the ten o’clock news – the little baby left in a basket at a dingy Laundromat, born to a crack addict and expected to have all sorts of problems. I imagined the crack baby, Moses, having a giant crack that ran down his body, like he’d been broken at birth. I knew that wasn’t what the term meant, but the image stuck in my mind. Maybe the fact that he was broken drew me to him from the start.

It all happened before I was born, and by the time I met Moses and my mom told me all about him, the story was old news and nobody wanted anything to do with him. People love babies, even sick babies. Even crack babies. But babies grow up to be kids, and kids grow up to be teenagers. Nobody wants a messed up teenager.

And Moses was messed up. Moses was a law unto himself. But he was also strange and exotic and beautiful. To be with him would change my life in ways I could never have imagined. Maybe I should have stayed away. Maybe I should have listened. My mother warned me. Even Moses warned me. But I didn’t stay away.

And so begins a story of pain and promise, of heartache and healing, of life and death. A story of before and after, of new beginnings and never-endings. But most of all…a love story.

Review:

Hi evreyone, it’s Manu! I started reading this book 100% blind, based on a friend recommendation, I had no idea what it was about and I loved it. It’s definitely one of the most beautiful stories I’ve ever read!

Everyone always talks about being color blind. And I get that. I do. But maybe instead of being color blind, we should celebrate color, in all its shades. It kind of bugs me that we’re supposed to ignore our differences like we don’t see them, when seeing them doesn’t have to be a negative.

First of all, I want to appreciate how this book not only accepts diversity but celebrates it. This quote was one of my favorites in the whole book, because, yes, we’re all equal and we should all be treated in the same way. But what makes each of us beautiful are our differences so we should never ignore them.

My mom thought Moses was the one who was dangerous. It had been Moses she had warned me about. And he had saved me.

Moses is a black kid who was left by his mom in a laundry basket when he was just a baby. His mom was a crack addict and so there were immediatly rumors on how messed up he would be. When he moves in with his grandma Gi in the small town where he was born. Georgia, his neighbour, is so fascinated by him and can’t wait to get to know him. Moses is a painter, but he paints whenever he wants, like on walls in other people’s property, and that often gets him in trouble, aggravating the dislike of the whole town.

Georgia may only want attention now. But that wouldn’t last. If I gave her attention, she would  want to spend more time with me. And if I spent time with her, she might want me to be her boyfriend. And if I was her boyfriend, she would want me to be normal. She would want me to be normal because she was normal. And normal was so lost to me that I didn’t even know where to look for it.

Moses is anything but normal, and even though he tries to push Georgia away, she won’t leave him alone. Because even if he tells her to go away, she knows deep down he needs her and she fights for him. And so this improbable friendship begins. But Moses has a lot going on…

There are so many things that I see… that I don’t want to see. Images that come into my mind that I would rather not think about. Hallucinations, visions, or maybe just an overly vivid imagination. My brain might be cracked, but it’s not just my brain. The sky is cracked too, and I can sometimes see what’s on the other side.

Here’s where the supernatural element kicks in. Moses can see things (I won’t say what exactly because you should find out by yourself). After reading The Law of Moses, I read Running Barefoot, that is kind of a prequel because it’s about two characters that you meet here (loved that one too), and I think that something that’s characteristic of Amy Harmon’s books is a spiritual element. In both books there’s a lot of talk about religions, different religions, and that’s something I really appreciated. I’m not a religious person and sometimes authors make it hard for me to enjoy books in which they talk a lot about it, but Harmon nailed it. She focuses on faith, and I loved that.

Georgia laughed, and I felt the air lodge in my throat. Her laugh was throaty and soft, and it made my heart swell like a balloon in my chest, fuller and fuller until I had to sneak breaths around its increased size.

Needless to say that Harmon’s writing is beautiful, it’s unique without being over the top. And it only increased the emotional level of the story. I really don’t want to talk too much about the plot because it’s too beautiful to explain in a few words.

“Georgia, you better run.” Moses was still smiling, but there was a gleam in his eyes that made me weak in the knees. I smiled sweetly up into his face. “Why would I do that, Moses? When I want you to catch me?”

Moses and Georgia’s friendship develops gradually into a powerfull first love, but they’re only seventeen and life has a lot in store for the both of them.

“I think I’m cracked.” That’s what Georgia said. But she hadn’t seemed to mind. Not until the cracks had gotten so wide she’d fallen in one and gotten hurt.

There are both Moses and Georgia’s povs in the book, as well as a before and after. The after takes place seven years later. You can really appreciate how much the characters grew and changed, roles are reversed and a lot went down. This is a really emotional book, I cried the whole time, or laughed while crying because there’s an intensity to this story and these characters that I won’t forget anytime soon. There’s a bit of everything in The Law of Moses, it can’t be confined in one genre only.

“If I were to paint you, I would use every color.”

I really think this book can be loved by everyone if only you read it open minded and ready for something different; so I highly recommend it. Let me know if you read it!

manuela calloway sisters

One thought on “Review: The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon

  1. Pingback: Review: The Song of David by Amy Harmon | Calloway Books

Leave a Reply

