Review: Of Triton (The Syrena Legacy #2) by Anna Banks

15513156

Summary:

WARNING: IF YOU HAVE NOT READ OF POSEIDON THIS REVIEW (AND THE SUMMARY) WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS.

Emma has just learned that her mother is a long-lost Poseidon princess, and now struggles with an identity crisis: As a Half-Breed, she’s a freak in the human world and an abomination in the Syrena realm below. Syrena law states that all Half-Breeds should be put to death.

As if that’s not bad enough, her mother’s reappearance among the Syrena turns the two kingdoms—Poseidon and Triton—against one another. Which leaves Emma with a decision to make: Should she comply with Galen’s request to keep herself safe and just hope for the best? Or should she risk it all and reveal herself—and her Gift—to save a people she’s never known?

Once again, Anna Banks infuses Emma and Galen’s points of view with humor, intrigue, and waves of romance.

Review:

Finally! I finally read Of Triton after two years and it was everything I didn’t expect, but I loved it nonetheless.

Of Poseidon finished on a big cliffhanger… Nalia, the one who everyone thought was killed in the mines all those years ago, is alive… and she’s Emma’s mom! The book begins with Emma being half unconscious in a car because her mom is trying to run. Galen and Toraf went to get Grom, Galen’s brother and Nalia’s used-to-be mate, leaving Galen’s sister Rayna to watch Nalia and Emma. But Nalia is smarter off, ties Rayna to a chair, drugs her and her daughter and flees the town. So when Galen and Toraf come back with Grom, they only find Rayna, angry as hell. When Emma starts to wake up, she remembers what went down after Galen told her mom he knew who she was.

I’m still standing. A spectator in my own life, I watch the supernova of my two worlds colliding: Mom and Galen. Human and Syrena. Poseidon and Triton. But what can I do? Who should I help?

So, to say it short: it’s chaos. Luckily, Galen has his fake human mom and Rachel is one smart woman, being ex-mob and all. She figures out how to trace Emma and her mom, so Galen together with Rayna, Toraf and Grom can chase them. Nalia ran, because she thinks Galen has come to arrest her after all these years of hiding on land and believes that Grom is dead. Their reunion, after being apart since World War II (Syrena can get about 300 years old), both thinking the other was dead, you can imagine, it’s heartbreaking.

Still, this moment belongs to the two of them, Mom and this handsome stranger. He reaches the passenger side door and stares down at her with steely violet eyes-down at my mother who never cries, down at my mother who’s now bawling like a spanked child-his face contorted in a rainbow of so many emotions, some that I can’t even name.
Then Grom the Triton king sinks to his knees in front of her, and a single tear spills down his face. “Nalia,” he whispers.

If you think it’s a happy ending now with rainbows and unicorns and cocktails on the beach: you are wrong. Galen, Toraf and Grom decide to bring Nalia back to the Syrena kingdom, to tell everyone she’s alive after all. But Emma is left at home, with Rayna to ‘babysit’ her, because Emma is half-breed. Her dad was human and the Syrena law is very strict on half-breeds. And on top of that, she has the gift of Poseidon. So shortly: it’s safer for her to stay on land. But when Galen and the others leave to bring Nalia back, there are Syrena that do not believe she is Nalia, the long lost princess. Oh, oh trouble.

So, yes, the book turned out quite differently than I thought it would, but I loved every word of it. Well, there was a moment when I thought: TORAF WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO YOUR BEST FRIEND and another moment near the end of the book that I was spilling tears on my book, but apart from that, every word.

“Don’t think you get special treatment just because you can make a whale do the tango. I’m still your mother.”

The book has a lot of funny moments in it as well. Emma’s thoughts about this whole Syrena thing are sometimes just hilarious to read.

I have a grandfather. I have a king for a grandfather. A king fish.”

“I’m so proud of you, Emma. And I know your father would be, too. Your grandfather can’t stop talking about it. You were amazing.” Ah, the bonding power of tangled hair and dancing whales.

The book was fast-paced, and I couldn’t stop reading! I was dragged into the story, feeling for Emma, Galen, Nalia, Rayna, Toraf, Grom. It was very well-written and I cried when Grom and Nalia reunited. No shame.

“I looked for you,” she shouts, even though he’s inches from her.
Slowly, as if in a show of peace, he takes the hand that slapped him and sandwiches it between his own. He seems to revel in the feel of her touch. His face is pure tenderness, his voice like a massage to the nerves. “And I looked for you.”
“Your pulse was gone,” she insists. By now she chokes back sobs between words. She’s fighting for control. I’ve never seen my mother fight for control.
“As was yours.”

All the characters are so great, and once again, I loved Rayna and Toraf, they are candy cane cute together but seperately, are awesome as hell.

I’m so happy with this sequel, so many things fall into place. And you also find out what the gift of Triton is and oh my god, believe me, you never saw that one coming. I’m dying to read Of Neptune, the last book of the trilogy. I need more Galen/Emma moments (what is their shipname? Gemma? Elen?). If you read the series, don’t hesitate to contact me, because I need someone to fangirl with!

Emma had said before that she wanted the best of both worlds. Prom, graduation, college. Swimming with dolphins, visiting the Titanic, searching for Amelia Earhart’s plane. He intends to make sure she has it all. 

amy calloway sisters

One thought on “Review: Of Triton (The Syrena Legacy #2) by Anna Banks

  1. Pingback: Review: Of Neptune (The Syrena Legacy #3) by Anna Banks | Calloway Books

Leave a Reply

