Review: Ransom (Ransom #1) by Rachel Schurig

21933426

Summary:

Daisy Harris has no reason to suspect that her day will be any different than usual. She’ll go to class, alone. She won’t speak or make eye contact. She’ll spend her entire day doing her best to go completely unnoticed. That’s what life is like for Daisy now—an endless cycle of loneliness and fear. A life lived hiding behind the walls she so faithfully maintains.

Then she sees it. A magazine, left behind in class. A simple picture—just his face. And it changes everything.

It’s been a year since she’s seen Daltrey Ransome. A year since he and his brothers left town to pursue their dreams of rock and roll superstardom. A year since he left Daisy behind—left her to watch as everything she knew crumbled around her. She’s been running from Daltrey ever since, desperate to keep her secret.

But she can’t run anymore. And now that Daltrey has found her—the girl he’s loved his entire life, the girl he’d give up everything for—he’s determined never to let her go again.

Review:

Hi y’all, Amy here. I found this book on Goodreads and the summary sounded so good I just had to read it. And lucky for me, I wasn’t disappointed. 

The day that Daisy Harris meets Daltrey Ransome they are both five years old. From nextdoor neighbours they go to friends and best friends. Daltrey and his three brothers, Cash, Lennon and Reed, have been into music ever since they were little boys and it makes the most perfect sense for them to start a band when they get older. Ransom. Daisy is nothing but supportive, helping with everything. Daltrey is her best friend and his brothers are like brothers for her too. Then Ransom has the chance to be the supporting act for Grey Skies and of course they take it, leaving Daisy at home in Jonesboro, Arkansas, until she can join the tour in the Summer. But things get bad for Daisy without her friends there and soon she breaks all contact with Daltrey.

The book begins with Daisy at college, socially awkward, with panic attacks and no friends. She misses Daltrey more than anything, but they are famous now, busy doing their own tour. But then she meets Paige, and Paige is just the girl she needs. She drags Daisy out of her slumber and let her hang out with her and Paige’s best friend, Karen. Paige, to say the least, is a crazy girl, but she’s loyal and funny and she understands Daisy more than Daisy knows.

Paige and Karen are huge Ransom fans and they plan on following their tour the following Summer. Paige begs Daisy to come along, not knowing that Daisy grew up with these boys.

They have a freaking Wikipedia page, for God’s sake. These are the boys I grew up with, the boys I shared a hundred family dinners with, the boys who used to moon me and pull my hair. They were the same boys I listened to for hours as they practiced in their garage.

Eventually, Daisy can’t keep it a secret anymore and she spills the juicy details to Paige, who you can imagine, is beyond thrilled she’s friends with someone who’s besties with the Ransom boys.

“I want you to know that I’m very compassionate toward your issues but… Holy shit! I’m sitting next to someone who is close friends with Daltrey Ransome.”

Paige encourages Daisy to talk to Daltrey, because, haven’t they both suffered enough now? She can see Daisy obviously misses him, and that she should stop punishing herself. So Daisy writes Daltrey an e-mail.

I touch the screen to open the email. I scan the first lines quickly, and my heart  feels as though it’s going to beat right out of my chest. Daisy.

And then they call. And then Daisy goes with Karen and Paige to follow their tour. And then, she sees Daltrey again for the first time in a year.

As I look down at Daisy in the crowded hallway, hundreds of miles away from home, months since I’ve last spoken to her, I realize that my love is every bit as strong as it ever was. And this time, I’m going to do something about it. 

Happy reunion, yay! Daltrey convinces Daisy and her friends to stay with them for the remaining of the tour and work at the T-shirt booth, touring along on the bus, seeing every concert they give for free. Paige and Karen are over the top excited they are touring with THE RANSOME BOYS but Daisy is just glad she and Daltrey are friends again.

Hugging Daltrey isn’t like hugging anyone else. It’s like finally coming home. 

But there’s still unspoken stuff between them. What made Daisy break up all contact with Daltrey and why is she still so closed off now? Is Daltrey still mad at her?

“You didn’t hurt me, Daisy, because hurt doesn’t even begin to cover it.” 

Will they ever be more than friends? Can Daisy get herself to tell him the truth? And if she does… Will Daltrey still accept her for who she is?

“I’ve been in love with him forever,”  

This book was really good. Yes, it’s another romance story, but different. I loved the characters, not only Daltrey and Daisy, but also Daltrey’s brothers (Lennon <3) and Paige is so amazing, I wish she could be my best friend. And then there’s also Levi, who’s the  boys’ best friend and a groupie, touring along with the band and making sure they have everything they need. Levi is so sweet and caring and immediately your best friend.

Of course there is some sexual tension between Daltrey and Daisy, but they are best friends first and best friends… they joke around.

We’re at the hotel. You should see the line outside of the venue. Is it always like that? I text him. He responds almost immediately. Duh haven’t you heard? I’m like, a huge star now. 

Daltrey is this tattooed, rock star dude and that’s totally hot, but he’s also super sweet and sensitive and loves Daisy like she’s the sun. I love those best-friends-turning-into-lovers stories, because what on world could be better than falling in love with your best friend?

I loved this book a lot, and I can not wait until I finally have the sequels in my hands. The Ransome boys are so loveable despite their rockstar attitude and I just wanna squeeze them all in a big hug. So yeah, if you like romance and rockstars, I’d recommend for you to read this book and if you have read, don’t be shy and leave a comment so we can fangirl about Daltrey and his brothers.

Then I register what I’m seeing. An unfamiliar tattoo, a small simple flower I’ve never seen. One he must have gotten in our year a part. A single daisy, right over his heart. 

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

