Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #1) by Jenny Han

15749186

Summary:

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

Review:

Hi, it’s Alex here! So, some people spent their Valentine’s Day with their beautiful dates, and, I couldn’t be less, I spent the whole day cuddled up with this book. It definitely did not disappoint, not at all. I have read The Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy by Jenny Han, but let me tell you that trilogy has nothing on To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. I thought that trilogy was a good read for the summer and I certainly enjoyed it, but this one I loved.

Lara Jean Song Covey, a lovely sixteen year old with a lot of personality, has a box with letters to all the boys she has loved because that’s her way to say goodbye, finito, I’m so over it. But one day, these letters are sent and she has to face the consequences of her secret loves being exposed to these boys, who may or may not share or have shared the same feelings.

“You’d rather make up a fantasy version of somebody in your head than be with a real person.”

This is basically what you need to know about the plot, I think I should tell you everything I liked about this book, and the multiple reasons why you should probably give it a try, too. First of all, the family dynamics in this story are great. You will find some fierce sister relationships, and who doesn’t love that? And, we actually get an active parent in a YA book. I know, unbelievable. But if I had to highlight anything, it would be Lara Jean’s relationship with her sisters, for sure. I especially loved Kitty, what a sassy little thing. Plus, everyone’s relationships with her are gold.

“Margot would say she belongs to herself. Kitty would say she belongs to no one. And I guess I would say I belong to my sisters and my dad, but that won’t always be true. To belong to someone—I didn’t know it, but now that I think about, it seems like that’s all I’ve ever wanted. To really be somebody’s, and to have them be mine.”

Second of all, Lara Jean is a great main character. At first, I was a little weary about her, but she really grows on you and I ended up loving her. And, actually relating with her, I think we all can in some way or another. This leads me to the wide-range of race and gender in this book, and Lara Jean actually touched some real issues and stereotypes concerning her race. I think in today’s society it’s often forgotten how important race, gender and sexuality matters are and how they should be treated. To find some of these issues displayed in books that are read by people of all ages is very important to me.

Third of all, there’s a swoon-worthy romance. Obviously, being a chick lit you need some cute boys and some epic love. This book has both. I’m a personal fan of “let’s pretend we are dating, we’re so not going to fall in love pft” because you can actually see a friendship between the two characters, and obviously because who doesn’t enjoy some pretend love turned real? I only need to say two more words, Peter Kavinsky.

“Smirking, he says, “Whatever spell you just tried to cast on me, it didn’t work, so I think you need to go back to Hogwarts.”

All in all, I really loved this book, the characters and the different relationship dynamics. I literally can’t wait for P.S. I Still Love You, damn the cliffhanger at the end of the book. I’m not particularly amused by the possibility of a love triangle, and that’s what its plot hints though. Regardless, I can’t wait till May 26th and see what happens to this characters that are now very special to me.

“It’s fun to think of the what-if. Scary, but fun. It’s like, I thought this door was closed before, but here it is open just the tiniest crack. What if?”

calloway sisters unnamed

 

Leave a Reply

