Review: REAL (Real #1) by Katy Evans


Summary:

A fallen boxer.
A woman with a broken dream.
A competition…

He even makes me forget my name. One night was all it took, and I forgot everything and anything except the sexy fighter in the ring who sets my mind ablaze and my body on fire with wanting…

Remington Tate is the strongest, most confusing man I’ve ever met in my life.

He’s the star of the dangerous underground fighting circuit, and I’m drawn to him as I’ve never been drawn to anything in my life. I forget who I am, what I want, with just one look from him. When he’s near, I need to remind myself that I am strong–but he is stronger. And now it’s my job to keep his body working like a perfect machine, his taut muscles primed and ready to break the bones of his next opponents . . .

But the one he’s most threatening to, now, is me.

I want him. I want him without fear. Without reservations.

If only I knew for sure what it is that he wants from me?

Review:

Hi! I’m Rheeza and I’ll be writing a review for today after a long week of being MIA! (I’m sorry about that but University life is so not easy but anyway I’m back!) If I will rate this book it will be 4 alpha stars. I know a lot of readers loved it though and probably wondering why the hell I’m not giving it 5 star rating, but I don’t know maybe because the other books of this series are so much better than this. If I wrote this review before I finished the entire series I would probably rate it much lower but it really improved so well as the story progress and I learned to fall in love with the characters and the story so now I am more bias, that despite all its flaws, I freaking love it!

“I love him He’s not just a star, he’s the whole fucking sky to me. He’s the sun and every planet in this galaxy.”

Remy and Brooke’s strong, unconditional love for each other was the core of this story. Their over-the-top love is all consuming and powerful that readers can’t helped but be sucked on it!

“Protecting you is my privilege. I will protect you and anything that you value as if it were mine.” [Remy]

Let’s begin with the characters…

Remington “Riptide” Tate

.

This guy is too much. Too much male. Too much masculinity and pure raw beats. Put together, he’s just like sex on a stick.

 His name alone makes me feel some type of way. Remy was an unbeatable underground fighter who everyone loves. If you look in the dictionary for the definition of alpha-male you will find Remy’s name.  He was enigmatic, powerful, dangerous and undeniably complex. He’s a six-foot-plus tower of testosterone (Katy’s description which was 100% accurate). However, despite of his physical strengths, there’s that vulnerability in there that makes me want to shower him with warm hugs and kisses and tell him it’s going to be fine.

Brooke Dumas

When her friend Melanie, drags her to one of Remy’s fights and their eyes lock, they shared that instant connection and from that moment on begin their journey together.

His lips curl and he meets my gaze. “Brooke Dumas.” He just fucked my name right in front of me. “I’m Remington.”

What can I say? I love Remy and Brooke, I love the secondary characters, I just love them all! The way Katy wrote Brooke’s internal dialogue was amazing and fascinating! She was a young athlete but due to an injury her dreams were shattered yet she continues to shape her own new path. She’s strong but irrationally and irrevocably in love with Remy who continues to hold back though he also wants her with a fierce passion.

“You’ll leave me the second it gets too steep, and you’ll leave me with nothing- when I want you like I’ve never wanted anything in my life. You’re all I think about, dream about. I get high and low and it’s all about you now, it’s not even about me anymore. I can’t sleep, can’t think, can’t concentrate worth shit anymore and it’s all because I want to be the f*cking ‘one’ for you and as soon as you realize what I am, all I’ll be is a f*cking mistake!” [Remy]

Since Remy has difficulty expressing his feelings, he often ‘speaks’ to Brooke in the choice of song he plays for her. And I will never again listen to Iris by The Goo Good Dolls without losing it!

And I don’t want the world to see me

‘Cause I don’t think that they’d understand

When everything’s made to be broken

I just want you to know who I am

*wipes tears*

BUT CAN WE TALK ABOUT THE SEXUAL TENSION BECAUSE IT WAS OFF THE CHARTS ELECTRIC!! Seriously I was dying from the anticipation and when she does eventually learn his secret and finally come together it was freaking mind blowing or a better term, panty-melting (hahahaha) because holy hotness it was passionate and 100000000% steamy and hot! The way the love scenes were described was so sexual and sensual. I’m pretty sure the book is bursting with pheromones.

But most importantly, the love between those two was so freaking intense, emotional, heartfelt and soulful that it makes my heart ache! Dammit now I wanna cry again! *takes deep breathes*

“I’m so fucking in love with you I don’t even know what to do with myself anymore.” [Remy]

Remy was this powerful alpha male but his true strength lies to the fact that he fought his own “demons” every single day of his life, for himself, for the people he loves. His brokenness touched me, and the way Brooke helped him and loved him despite of it makes me more invested with their love.

“That’s why I didn’t want to touch you I knew I’d go crazy if I touched you, and now, it tears me open to ask you to be with me when I know I’m just going to do something to hurt you again! [Remy]

“Yes! Yes you probably are, you idiot! And it’s going to be a damn skydive for me, and I’m going to hang on tight and just jump with you because that’s what you do to me.” [Brooke]

Until you have read and experienced the chemistry, the relationship, and these characters…there is simply no way for me to even get close to adequately expressing what this book will do to you. It was just about the book that I will totally be obsessed with. I loved the songs they shared, I loved how protective they are to each other, I absolutely loved that Remy’s eyes would always look for Brooke’s when he steps into the ring before the fight starts, I loved how she supports him, I loved how Remy sacrifices everything for Brooke– I loved everything. It has the right mix of romance and angst, and was very well written. I could literally feel and see everything. It was an exhilarating experience, a roller coaster of emotion but a ride that I would be willing to go back to again and again!

rheeza

calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

