Review: Clear: A Death Trippers Novel by Jessica Park

24393633

Summary:

Stella Ford’s grasp on reality is already loose, and it’s about to come undone.

When the college junior flees Chicago and leaves her toxic family behind, she heads for coastal Maine to find the one person who brought her peace years ago: Sam Bishop. But the Sam she once knew now has painful secrets.

Stella is determined to heal them both. Healing, however, is a challenge when the walls of her everyday existence collapse. And when Sam’s best friend is his worst enemy.

When the line between life and death blurs.

When an end is just a beginning.

When lust and rage rule.

Yet during extraordinary chaos, there can be extraordinary love, even if that love comes with a twist.

Welcome to death tripping.

A thriller, a paranormal, and a passionate romance, CLEAR crosses genres and breaks boundaries.

Review:

Hello dears, it’s Manu! As you probably now know, I love Jessica Park’s book, so I couldn’t wait to put my hands on this one. My most recurrent thought while reading it was: WHAT THE HELL AM I READING????

“Everything will be okay. Good things last, and the bad things will fade away. So, go find your good.”

 

 

Ok, let me explain. As it’s said in the summary, this book crosses genres, and it’s also really dark and kind of distrurbing at times, because the thematic is very peculiar. I don’t want to spoil exactly what it is, because I didn’t know and I loved it, but it’s about death and dying, but not in the usual way. I don’t even know how Park came up with this idea but it was completely mind blowing.

I’ll do whatever I have to do in order to disappear and start over. I’m going to find Sam Bishop.

Stella is 16-years-old when she first met Sam in a hospital, after her father and sister were in a car accident. Sam was there for a friend, but he ended up comforting Stella instead. They were together for just a few hours but it felt like they knew each other better than anyone else. But that day, Stella’s life changed drastically, her father left, and she found herself with a controlling mother, and completely changed sister. Five years later, she finally finds the courage to leave a family that would eventually bring her down, and goes looking for Sam.

“Let me be your good.” Sam’s body tenses, and his heart pounds against me. “Can you let me be yours?”

At first Sam is cold and distant, something happened to him. But soon, Stella’s presence changes him, they start to heal each other, and there’s this beautiful love story that I loved so much. They adore each other so deeply. And Sam is so sweet!

13823387

But things get really crazy, when Sam’s best friend, Costa, comes back to town. I swear, nothing could have prepared me for what happened. While Sam and Stella’s relationship keeps going strong and never lose its center stage throughout the story, often lightening the mood with sweet and funny moments, there are other storylines to focus on. First of all this death tripping thing. I’m not going to explain this, though, you’ll have to find out.

The triangle that is Costa, Sam, and me is complex. There’s no denying that. But Costa is important to both of us. Even when he’s difficult or manipulative or exploitative, that dark prince has our hearts.

There isn’t a love triangle. They just love each other very much; yes, there might be a couple of very interesting, very hot scenes involving the three of them (*whispers* wow!). But what’s more interesting is Costa himself. I think describing him as the dark prince who has our hearts is really accurate. I still don’t know how I feel about him, there’s a really weird, and fascinating dynamic between him and the happy couple. Sometimes I loved him, sometimes I hated him, and often I cried for him. His actions are never clear.

“Death tripping is an addiction, just like any other. You can get run-down and you need more and it’s never enough. Never.”

Jessica Park’s writing is beautiful, and the characters are well developed and have complex personalities and back stories. I really, really liked this book. It’s different, and once you start you won’t be able to stop reading! Enjoy the surge…

manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

