Review: Of Neptune (The Syrena Legacy #3) by Anna Banks

18525702

Summary:

Emma, who is half human and half Syrena, and her Syrena love, Galen, need time together. Alone. Away from the kingdoms of Poseidon and Triton. Emma’s grandfather, the Poseidon king, suggests the two visit a small town called Neptune.

Neptune is home to both Syrena and Half-Breeds alike. But Emma and Galen didn’t sign up to be peacemakers between the ocean-living Syrena and the land-dwelling, freshwater counterparts. They didn’t bargain for meeting a charming Half-Breed named Reed, who can barely disguise his feelings for Emma. And they especially didn’t expect to find themselves in the middle of a power struggle that threatens not only their love, but their ocean kingdoms.

In this stunning conclusion to her bestselling Syrena Legacy, Anna Banks thrills fans with more action and romance than ever.

Review:

Hi y’all it’s Amy with a review of the final book in the Syrena Legacy trilogy and damn… what an ending! Have you not read the sequels yet? You can find reviews from Of Poseidon and Of Triton here.

Galen and Emma, finally have the permission from the Archives to be together and after all that has happened, they decide to go on a little vacation. So they can spend time together away from everyone and just relax. King Antonis, Emma’s grandfather suggests they go and find Neptune, a little town in the mountains. Why, he doesn’t say, but Emma is curious and decides to find it. And find it they do.

Neptune is a Syrena town! Half-breeds, human and Syrena live in peace here, accepting each other. And Emma loves it. She finally feels like she fits in, because she’s a half-breed too. Galen, however, doesn’t see it that way.

These people know who I am, and they accept me because of it. It’s like I’ve been a part of their secret societ since the day I was born. And deep down inside me, I think I have. 

I secretly hoped it would be a fluffy book with lots of fun between Galen and Emma and cute moments. But I was so wrong. Of course, it wouldn’t be a Syrena book, if it was all fluffy and adorable. Only one day in Neptune, and things fall apart. And not only, because there is this cute half-breed Syrena guy, Reed, who obviously has a crush on Emma.

“You’re in no danger from me stealing you from Galen. Great guy that he is.” Reed swims close to me, so close I think he’s going back on his word. His mouth is just inches from mine when he says, “Not that I don’t want to steal you away. Oh, I do. And would if I thought you’d let me.” 

I was so anxious reading this book, I could tear my hair out of my skull. Galen left Emma after a massive fight, but he ends up in an awful situation and Emma, of course, doesn’t know. But as a reader, you do know. And it’s life destroying. I was constantly hoping that Galen would find a chance to get back to Emma, or that Emma would find him, but it didn’t happen until the chapters near the end and all that time I was biting my nails.

Despite the lack of lovey dovey moments, I enjoyed reading this book anyway. Galen and Emma remind me a little of Four and Tris. They’re a cute couple, but Emma and Galen are both awfully stubborn and I didn’t quite catch the chemistry between them. Though they haven’t spend much time together in this book, so that might be it. However, when they were together, and not discussing the heavy stuff, they were cute and well, hot.

I silently thank whoever invented tinted windows. We are a whirlwind of hands and groans and impatience. I’m near drunk from the way he smells, tastes, feels beneath me. 

I love Anna Banks’ writing style. She writes easy and it’s not hard to feel along with the characters. It took me a few chapters to get hooked again, but once I was, I couldn’t stop reading. Mostly, because otherwise my nails wouldn’t survive the day. I just had to know what would hapen next.

I consider the universe. I consider what this could be the start of, what this could be the end of. I consider who I am, where I’ve been an how I got here. 

All in all, Of Neptune is a brilliant ending to this trilogy and I’m glad I picked up Of Poseidon two years ago at the Barnes & Noble.

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

