Review: Even in Paradise by Chelsey Philpot

20601687

 

Summary:

When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the former senator’s daughter. Most people do… or think they do.

Charlotte certainly never expects she’ll be Julia’s friend. But almost immediately, she is drawn into the larger than-life-new girl’s world—a world of midnight rendezvous, dazzling parties, palatial vacation homes, and fizzy champagne cocktails. And then Charlotte meets, and begins falling for, Julia’s handsome older brother, Sebastian.

But behind her self-assured smiles and toasts to the future, Charlotte soon realizes that Julia is still suffering from a tragedy. A tragedy that the Buchanan family has kept hidden… until now.

Review:

Hello there! This is Alexandra who may or may not be dead because of college. So, please do excuse my absence of reviews these following weeks.

Even in Paradise has been featuring my to be read list for quite a long time now and I’m so happy I finally decided to pick it up. Although I must admit that due to my high expectations about this book, I found myself thinking there was something missing. Regardless, I do believe this is just because I was really excited and expected some kind of mind-blowing plot, or I don’t know. But it was good. Really good.

First of all, this book is set in a boarding school. And if you are like me, that’s already a bonus point. Charlotte Ryder, our main character, is your ordinary student passionate about art and keeping memories in a box. But then, she meets Julia Buchanan, she’s one of the Great Buchanans; rich, powerful and charming. Charlotte would have never expected to be friends, let alone best friends, with the notorious Julia Buchanan, until she is.

“Even knowing, as I do now, that grace, power, and, yes, love can hide the darkest elements of the human heart, I would do it all again.”

After meeting Julia, Charlotte doesn’t think she could meet someone as extraordinary, that’s until she meets the whole family and she finds herself drawn into the luxurious world of the Buchanans. This is the story of how Charlotte falls in love with a boy, a girl and a family. And how the power of secrets can break a girl’s heart.

“They were perfect. They were flawed. They were scarred and beautiful. They were too familiar with death and clung to life by clinging to one another. The Great Buchanans were only human, after all.”

This book had some We Were Liars by E.Lockhart, Looking for Alaska by John Green and The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald vibes. If you enjoyed any of these books, you most likely will love Even in Paradise. I was completely in love with Philpot’s writing, and the Latin texts and French conversations only increased my experience.

But before you embark yourself on this book, let me warn you, you will, most likely, feel this sense of emptiness and heartbreak after reading this book. You will want more, you will hate and love the ending, and like real life, you will wish things were different. I don’t think I should tell anything more about the plot since I believe you will enjoy it more if you just read it with knowing as little as possible.

If you do read it or have already, please don’t be shy, leave a comment or contact us on our twitter @calloway_books.

CM.

unnamed calloway sisters

 

Leave a Reply

