Review: Night of Cake and Puppets (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #2.5) by Laini Taylor

18360128

Summary:

In Night of Cake & Puppets, Taylor brings to life a night only hinted at in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy—the magical first date of fan-favorites Zuzana and Mik. Told in alternating perspectives, it’s the perfect love story for fans of the series and new readers alike. Petite though she may be, Zuzana is not known for timidity. Her best friend, Karou, calls her “rabid fairy,” her “voodoo eyes” are said to freeze blood, and even her older brother fears her wrath. But when it comes to the simple matter of talking to Mik, or “Violin Boy,” her courage deserts her. Now, enough is enough. Zuzana is determined to meet him, and she has a fistful of magic and a plan. It’s a wonderfully elaborate treasure hunt of a plan that will take Mik all over Prague on a cold winter’s night before finally leading him to the treasure: herself! Violin Boy’s not going to know what hit him.

Review: 

I’ve never been more happier with a short novella. Oh. My. God. I’m so in love with Mik and Zuzana, my heart is going to explode.

Okay, okay. So this short novella is about Zuzana and Mik where Zuzana finally brings up the courage to talk to Mik… in a very Zuzana-fairytale-kinda way. She draws him a treasure map and hides it in his violin case. So starts the treasure hunt for Mik to find Zuzana. 

This novella is so cute. I just don’t have any other words for it. Zuzana is such an awesome character. In so many ways, she is a lot like me.

My height triggers the puppy-kitten reflex – must touch – and I’ve found that since you can’t electrify yourself like a fence, the next best thing is to have murderer’s eyes.

In others, she isn’t, because I would have never in my life gathered the courage to draw a map (I can’t even draw) and make Mik come to her. In others, she is. Like being an amazing friend, and believing Karou that she’s not a normal human being. And like Zuzana, I would be thrilled to have a best friend who has scuppies that make wishes come true and is chimaera.

I’ve always said – and really meant – that life would be more interesting if those unseen things were real (and dragons, too, please).

And Mik. Violin Boy. Please, can I have my own Mik? Where do I even start to describe him. He could’ve have ignored Zuzana’s map, could’ve turned back at any moment. But he didn’t. Because he is just as drawn to Zuzana’s mystery as she is to him.

I have an instinct about Zuzana. I think she’s not good or evil, but both – the perfect mixture of the tow, a swirled ice-cream cone of good and evil – and she won’t have led me here for no reason. 

They’re both open minded, and believe in fantasies and magic and they have these kind of conversations that you just can’t have with anyone else and it’s beautiful. I’m rooting for these two so hard. Please, let them be together forever and create a beautiful off spring.

Me & Mik. I’ve never been part of an ampersand before. Never a ‘we,’ never an us,’ but by the time I get off the phone and start walking – slowly as directed – in teh direction of the Devil’s Stream, I’m feeling pretty good about my chances.

One thing I love about this book, and the whole Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, is that it’s centre is set in Europe, Czech Republic and not in America for a change. It gives the story something extra. Like, this whole puppet treasure hunt wouldn’t have worked in New York as brilliant as it did in the magical city of Prague. Thank you Laini Taylor for this. You’re a genius.

If this night is a fairy tale, then this is the happily ever after, right, or at least the beginning of? And the thing about happily ever afters? Those princesses and woodcutter’s sons have bodies under their coats, too. I mean, what do you think happily ever after means? 

Now if you excuse me, I have to go build a shrine for Mik and Zuzana, xoxo.

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

