Review: Kyland by Mia Sheridan

23637440

Summary:

A full-length, standalone romance from the New York Timesbestselling author of Archer’s Voice.

Dirt poor. Hillbilly. Backwoods hick. Mountain folk.

Tenleigh Falyn struggles each day to survive in a small, poverty-stricken, coal mining town where she lives with her sister and mentally ill mother. Her dream of winning the college scholarship given to one student by the local coal company and escaping the harshness of her life, keeps her going.

Kyland Barrett lives in the hills, too, and has worked tirelessly–through near starvation, through deep loneliness, against all odds–to win the Tyton Coal Scholarship and leave the town that is full of so much pain.

They’re both determined not to form any attachments, but one moment changes everything. What happens when only one person gets to win? When only one person gets to leave? And what happens to the one left behind?

Kyland is a story of desperation and hope, loss and sacrifice, pain and forgiveness, but ultimately, a story of deep and unending love.

THIS IS A STANDALONE SIGN OF LOVE NOVEL, INSPIRED BY TAURUS. New Adult Contemporary Romance: Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

Review:

Hello everyone! It’s Manu. This is the first book I read by Mia Sheridan, and, wow, I really need to catch up. The writing style really pulled me in, I was completely invested in this story after only a few pages.

Sometimes my life felt so small. And I had to wonder why those of us who were given small lives, still had to feel pain so big.

Kyland and Tenleigh are both from a little, poor city, they know what it means to be hungry, to be helpless, but still they both have hope for a different future. They hope to win a scholarship that will get them out of town, and that will give them the chance to change their lives.

Tenleigh leaned her head back and laughed. I had wondered what her full-out laughter sounded like, and now I knew. And I suddenly understood that it would have been better if I didn’t. So much better. Because I wanted to lose myself in the sound of that laughter. It alarmed me and that same feeling came into my chest again, only now increasing. I sat up straighter, something instinctual telling me I needed to run.

Tenleigh lives with her mom, affected by a mental illness, and her sister, so even if she plans on leaving to study, what she really wants is to help her family. On the other hand, Kyland is alone, so no matter what his plan is to leave this town as soon as he graduates, even if he doesn’t get that scholarship, and make a new life away from the place that ruined his family.

I wished I had known that it was dangerous for girls like us to pretend to be princesses. In that moment, dreaming of anything felt dangerous. Dreams failed, and when they did, reality hurt that much more.

As soon as they officially meet, Tenleigh and Kyland are intensely attracted to each other, but neither of the two are interestend in a relationship, because in their lives what really matters is to work with all you have, to focus on school, and get out of there. But they can’t help being around each other…

“Tenleigh… I’m sorry I kissed you.” He grimaced. “I mean, shit… I’m not sorry I kissed you. What I’m sorry about is that I’m not going to do it again.” He laughed a small, uncomfortable laugh. “I mean, I’m sorry for me, not for you. I know I’m missing out. I’m missing… The truth is, Tenleigh,” vulnerability washed over his expression, “you might have noticed, I’m not exactly a catch anyway.” Sympathy filled me. I guessed the truth was that neither of us were exactly a catch-somehow though, that didn’t make me feel better. And somehow, Kyland telling me he wasn’t a catch felt like a lie he didn’t even know he was telling.

Kyland is guarded, he doesn’t want to be attached to anyone, because, really, what’s the point if he’s going to leave and never look back? Because he doesn’t want to look back. He’s honest with Tenleigh, but she’d rather be with him as long as she can, even if she’ll have her heart broken in the end.

I understood his need to make a life for himself somewhere that didn’t remind him of the deep pain he must have lived with all these years. And it made me want to love him. Which wasn’t good. At all. Because he wouldn’t love me back. He wouldn’t allow himself to love me back even if he wanted to, which he might not. And I guessed that had to be okay. I guessed I couldn’t even really blame him.

But can you stop yourself from falling in love? As the day of the test to win the scholarship approaches, everything gets more complicated. They really don’t know how to handle what is going on between them.

I felt like I was drowning in her, and just like a drowning person, my instinct was to thrash and resist-fight. Fight this thing that had taken over my body and my heart. Fight her.

Things get really painful. I read the second half of the book with my heart in my throat. Nothing goes as you think it will, and it’s shocking. I think this was an amazing book, unique, and overwhelming. I’m going to carry these characters in my heart for a long time. The character development was incredible, you see them changing so much, you see them feeling so much. It honestly broke my heart.

“Tenleigh,” he repeated, his voice cracking. “Don’t love me. Please don’t love me. I can’t stay here. Don’t love me.”
“It’s too late.” I shook my head back and forth in defiance. “It’s too late. I’m not asking you to stay, but it’s too late for me not to love you.”

I highly recommend Kyland, to everyone who’s up for an intense, emotional but also sweet read.

manuela calloway sisters

 

Leave a Reply

