Review Confess by Colleen Hoover

22609310

Summary:

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover, a new novel about risking everything for love—and finding your heart somewhere between the truth and lies.

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

Review:

Hello everyone! It’s Manu here back with another review of one of Hoover’s books. You should know by now that I love CoHo and, I don’t know, she always finds that something that makes her books so incredibly beautiful to me. So if you love her too, but even if you don’t, trust me, you want to read this!

How can a fifteen-year old girl defend her love when that love is dismissed by everyone? It’s impossible to defend yourself against inexperience and age. And maybe they’re right. Maybe we don’t know love like an adult knows love, but we sure as hell feel it.

Five pages into this book and I was already crying, and not, you know, the silent, lonely tear rolling down your cheek, but the full on ugly sobbing. I was in bed surrounded by tissues, it was rather disgusting (but how beautiful is it to feel this much while reading? I love it!). And CoHo, being the amazing writer that she is, made me feel so many different emotions in that prologue alone, that I was sure I was going to love this book (and end up curled in bed sobbing for a long while).

There are people you meet that you get to know, and then there are people you meet that you already know.

Six years later, Auburn is desperate for a job, and she finds herself in front of a shop, covered with notes, people’s darkest and deepest confessions. Maybe it’s fate, maybe it’s just a coincidence, but that’s where she found a job, and maybe something more…

She seems a lot like me. A loner, a thinker, an artist with her life. And it appears as though she’s afraid I’ll alter her canvas if she allows me too close. She doesn’t need to worry. The feeling is mutual.

Owen Gentry is an artist, he paints other people confessions, and how amazing is that? The paintings are so beautiful (yes, you can actually see those paintings in the book thanks to Danny O’Connor, an incredible artist who brought Owen’s art to life). Owen is in desperate need of someone to help him for that night show. When Auburn shows up at his door it seems fate. But this isn’t the first time he’s seen her (we don’t know when and what happened till the very end), and somehow her past changed and shaped him into the person he is now. Like every single one of CoHo’s male characters, Owen is handsome and swoon-worthy, you’ll find yourself in love with him before you can even say OMG (this will make sense only after you read the book, though).

“Do you? Love your art more?” I look straight at her this time. “Absolutely.” Her lips curl up into a hesitant grin, and I don’t know why this answer pleases her. It disturbs most people. I should be able to love people more than I love to create, but so far that hasn’t happened yet.

The connection between the two is immediate; talking with each other is so easy and they both want to tell the other everything about themselves, but there are things they can’t share. Auburn has only one goal in her life, and she won’t do anything that could ruin her chances to get to it. Owen is hiding something too, and pretty soon he understands that in no way can a relationship between them work, because what Owen’s hiding would destroy everything Auburn is working for, and the only thing he wants more than Auburn, is her happiness.

She deserves so much better than what I can give her. I don’t, however, think she deserves better than me. I think she would be perfect for me and I would be perfect for her, but all the bad choices I’ve made in my life are what she doesn’t deserve to be a part of.

Owen is a difficult character, but not in the way that you may think; he’s not a jerk who’s magically turned into the perfect guy by a girl. He’s actually a good guy, but we don’t get to know the reasons behind his actions at first, and it’s odd because they seem kind of out of character, though his povs give you enough informations to know that he’s a sweetheart, he’s selfless and does everything and sacrifices everything for those he loves.

He lifts his right hand and – yes, I know you’re in there, heart – his fingers brush lightly beneath my chin, slowly tilting my face upward. I gasp. His eyes fall to my mouth before scanning slowly over my features, lingering on each one, giving every part of me from the neck up his complete and total focus. I watch his eyes as they move from my jaw, to my cheekbones, to my forehead, back to my eyes again. “I’ll paint you from memory,”

Auburn is adorable and funny, if I were into girls I would totally be in love with her. She’s strong, and there’s only one thing she wants, and nothing and no one can stop her. Not even her feelings for Owen. I loved how she never gave up, she went through a terrible heartache when she was young and then didn’t get to enjoy being a teenager, she was forced to grow up, but she carries on with pride and hope, even when everyone around her dismissed her feelings. When everything falls apart and things get ugly again, Owen is there ready to steady her and help her, beacuse in the end they’re both acting out of selflessness for someone they love.

“Owen Mason Gentry,” she says, pushing the tent out of her lap and onto the seat next to her. She slides onto my lap and I grab her waist, not at all sure where she’s going with this, but not really concerned enough to stop it. She looks me in the eyes while holding on to both sides of my face. “You better stop pouting. And doubting.” I grin. “That rhymed.” She laughs loudly, and have I mentioned I love her? No, I haven’t. Because that would be crazy. And impossible.

I could literally quote the whole book, because there are so many quotes that are now among my favorites. CoHo has a way of writing emotions, and the characters’ true feelings that is really amazing. That’s why her books make me cry so much, even when nothing really painful is happening, because it’s just overwhelming, it’s so real and I feel like I’m part of the story. And that’s exactly what I love about reading.

I don’t feel lost in him at all, because it’s the first time I’ve ever felt like someone truly found me.

True to CoHo’s style, Confess is beautifully written, heartbreaking and unique, not only among the genre, it’s also different from everything she’s written so far. I don’t know how she does it, but I can’t wait to read her next book, November 9 (which ironically enough comes out November 10th, you can read the blurb here, but I warn you, it could make you cry, at least I did).

“That could be fate, you know.”

So I highly recommend this book, and I highly recommend to buy the physical copy because the artworks are beautiful. Confess has a special place on my bookshelf as well as in my heart.

manuela calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

