Review: All Fall Down by Ally Carter

18115187

Summary: 

This exciting new series from NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Ally Carter focuses on Grace, who can best be described as a daredevil, an Army brat, and a rebel. She is also the only granddaughter of perhaps the most powerful ambassador in the world, and Grace has spent every summer of her childhood running across the roofs of Embassy Row.

Now, at age sixteen, she’s come back to stay–in order to solve the mystery of her mother’s death. In the process, she uncovers an international conspiracy of unsettling proportions, and must choose her friends and watch her foes carefully if she and the world are to be saved.

Review:

Hi Amy here! This book came out two months ago and I’ve been waiting to read it ever since. I just love Ally Carter’s other books, the Gallagher Girls series and Heist Society and this book didn’t let me down.

What is life?! All Fall Down is amazing. I was hooked from the first page, and not even two pages in, I already knew I was going to love Grace. So the story’s set in Adria (a fictional country), on Embassy Row, where all the ambassadors from many different countries live with their families. How cool is that?! It was so awesome reading about it, really original, too.

Okay, so Grace, goes to live with her grandfater who’s the ambassador of the U.S.A. and their neighbour is Russia. Like, take one step and you’re in Russia. That was also a thing I found funny about this book: the ease of which they talked about being in different countries. I absolutely loved that.

When we walked into Brazil, it was dark. 

Back to the plot. Grace is determined to find out who’s behind the death of her mother, but doesn’t want to cause any more trouble. She really wants to be the good girl. But ah, the saying ‘I don’t go looking for trouble, trouble finds me’ applies to Grace very much. So on her hunt to find the killer, she picks up some new friends and falls back in touch with some old ones. There’s Alexei, who’s the Russian boy next door and Grace’s brothers best friend, and she has known him for years. You have Megan, who is completely different from Grace, all girly like, but they were set on ‘playdates’ when they were about six. There’s Rosie, the twelve year old girl from Germany. And last but not least, Noah, who’s half Israeli, half Brazilian.

 “I’m Noah. Noah Miguel Estaban. I’m here to be your best friend.” 
“Noah Estaban?” He shrugs. “Mom’s Israeli. Dad’s Brazilian. What can I say? I am Embassy Row personified. You really lucked out in the best friend department.” 

Every one of those characters, has something that makes them very likeable. And Noah, he’s such a cutie, I love him. And he’s total best friend material, super funny and where can I find my own Noah?

He looks at the piles of clothes, grabs whatever is lying on top and throws it at me. “Here, put this on.” 
“That’s a duffle bag.” 
“Okay then put on something else. But that’s a really nice bag. It would really bring out your” – he gestures to me oddly with his hands – “personality.” 

I can’t say much about the plotline without spoiling, but ohmygoditssofreakingamazinganddamnplottwistattheend. I have a weakness for brave, kick ass, daredevil female characters and Grace definitely belongs in that category. Also, Ally Carter always writes the best of those characters and the way she writes makes the story very enjoyable to read. I could totally see myself walking on Embassy Row, as Grace or with Grace and that’s one of the things that makes a good author: to make you feel like you’re in the story. And even though the story is quite serious, there are a lot of funny moments in it.

“The last time we saw each other they were scraping what was left of you off the German courtyard, so I can see how your memory might be impaired.” 
“Canadian,” I say. “I was in the Canadian courtyard. I’ve never fallen into Germany.” 

“I’m not as tough as I look.” 
“That’s okay,” I tell him. “I’m way tougher than you look.” 

If you have read Gallagher Girls/Heist Society then read this, you’ll love it. If you haven’t read Gallagher Girls/Heist Society, but if you love yourself some a badass female character and a story that’ll hook you from beginning to end, with breaking into palaces and creeping in secret tunnels, you should read it. And on that note, I’ll leave you with this quote that’s basically a summary of Grace.

A hand lands on my bare shoulder. I don’t even bother waking, not really. My brother goes to West Point. My father is an Army Ranger. Asleep Me can handle this. Still groggy, I roll over and grab the hand and before I’m even off the bed, the boy is on the floor. When I finallly find myself fully awake, I’m standing over him. “Grace!” He half yells, half whispers. “Tell me why I shouldn’t kill you.” 

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

