Review: My Name Is Memory by Ann Brashares

7135858

Summary:

Daniel has spent centuries falling in love with the same girl. Life after life, crossing continents and dynasties, he and Sophia (despite her changing name and form) have been drawn together-and he remembers it all. Daniel has “the memory”, the ability to recall past lives and recognize souls of those he’s previously known. It is a gift and a curse. For all the times that he and Sophia have been drawn together throughout history, they have also been torn painfully, fatally, apart. A love always too short.

Review:

You know those books that make such an impact on you that they leave you wondering about life and love and everything else? Well, this is one of those books. My mind is reeling and I am constantly thinking about it ever since I picked it up.

My memory is an extraordinary thing.

Let me explain what it’s about. Daniel Grey remembers. Everything. All of his past lives. Yes, you live more than one life. But barely anyone remembers they do. Daniel does. He is gifted, or cursed, with  The Memory. He’s been on Earth for a long time but has died many times. His soul remains the same but his bodies are different. And so are the souls from the people around them. He can recognize souls, but the painful thing is that they don’t recognize him. His first life, he started with her. With the girl and he’s been looking for in every life since.

Every life I start with her, my original sin. I know myself through her. 

He’s been in love with her for ever but they have only spent so little time together. Now, in this time, he finds her again and, to be with her, he transfers schools. Lucy is intrigued by the new student, Daniel, but he never talks to her. Not until the day of graduation. And then he goes too fast, by trying to get her to remember. Remember him. Remember her.

He tricked himself into thinking that she would look into his eyes and remember, that love would conquer all. 

She doesn’t of course and runs off, confused and leaving him, torn and heart broken. In the years that follow, Lucy can’t get Daniel off her mind and you follow her through college and not only trying to find Daniel, but finding herself too.

The story also follows pieces of Daniel’s past lives and how the things he did or the person he was, made him who he is today and why he spends every life trying to find Lucy.

It’s a strange source of loneliness, knowing things about people they didn’t know about themselves. 

This book made me think. What if you really live more than one life? What if there are people who have ‘the memory’? It’s an interesting theory and one I could believe in.

I say “we” and I mean myself, my soul, my selves, my many lives. I say “we” and I also mean the other ones like me who have the Memory, the conscious record of experience on this earth that survives every death. 

I loved this book a lot and  Lucy and Daniel are interesting characters and it saddened me, they spend most of the book apart, though yet still together. It’s complicated, you’ll see what I mean by reading it. Honestly, I think everyone should read it. It is a unique story and it might also give you another look on life. It might not be as black and white as you think.

Nobody remembers but me. He kept that thought locked in its place, but this night he let it out. The loneliness of it was unbearable sometimes. 

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

