Review: The Summer I Became A Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

14744489

Summary: 

On the outside, seventeen-year-old Madelyne Summers looks like your typical blond cheerleader—perky, popular, and dating the star quarterback. But inside, Maddie spends more time agonizing over what will happen in the next issue of her favorite comic book than planning pep rallies with her squad. That she’s a nerd hiding in a popular girl’s body isn’t just unknown, it’s anti-known. And she needs to keep it that way.

Summer is the only time Maddie lets her real self out to play, but when she slips up and the adorkable guy behind the local comic shop’s counter uncovers her secret, she’s busted. Before she can shake a pom-pom, Maddie’s whisked into Logan’s world of comic conventions, live-action role-playing, and first-person-shooter video games. And she loves it. But the more she denies who she really is, the deeper her lies become…and the more she risks losing Logan forever.

Review:

Hi Amy here! I’ve read this book like three times already so I thought I’d review it. It’s a fun and nice read and very relatable if your fangirl side stays at home during schooldays.

As said in the summary, Maddie is a huge geek. But only when nobody can see it. She has gotten laughs for it when she was younger and since then she was determined to never have anyone laughing at her again. So she made her way to the top of the food chain by becoming a cheerleader and dating the hot jock. But she’s not happy.

“What if the girls on the squad realize I swoon over Peter Parker or that I secretly wish our uniforms included a cape?”

That’s why she’s utterly thrilled when summer arrives.. and at the right timing too because there’s a new comic out! Only, when she rushes home to check the mail.. it’s not there. And her inbox says it can take another six weeks before it’s in. She can’t wait another six weeks! So there’s only one option.. go to the comic store in town and buy it herself.

Is the risk of being seen and losing my place atop Natchitoches Central’s elite worth it? No. Absolutely not. It’s been a long hard climb to the top of the popularity ladder. It took a lot of deceit and suberfuge to get people to forget The Incident. But I can’t go two months without knowing? Damn your awesomeness, Super Ones. 

So she grabs her dad’s hoodie, a cap and some shades and hits the road. A desperate fangirl shouldn’t be toyed with. Maddie is going to get that comic and she’s going to get it today. Her plan: sneak in, grab the comic book, pay and rush out. But things turn out a little differently.. and then there’s Logan, the cute geeky guy who works at the store.

“Do you have a copy of The Super Ones #400?” I say, abandoning my faux-guy voice. He finally looks up and I recognize him. Not only do I recognize him, I know him. I could probably tell you what shoes he’s wearing (black and white chucks with frayed laces) even though his lower half is hidden behind the counter. I know this because he’s kind of been my geek idol for a while now and.. I’ve paid attention. 

It ends up in Logan lending her his copy of #400 and his phone number so she can call him to return the comic. And that’s the start of a beautiful geeky friendship (*cough* more than friendship *cough*). Maddie has never been more in her element. But it’s also hard to keep it all a secret. Her parents don’t know, even her best friend doesn’t know and she is getting trapped in a web of lies. Is she going to tell everyone the truth and have a chance at being the real Maddie and be with Logan or is she going to keep her cover up and keep her distance from the cutest guy in the school?

I’ll never be happy until… Until what? Until I’m able to freely discuss who I think would win in a battle between Darth Vader and Lord Voldemort? (The answer obviously being Lord Voldemort. He’d Avada Kadavra Vader way before Vader could even think about the force choke move.)

There are a lot of funny and cute moments in this book and I spent every page from the moment I met Logan wishing I could have my own adorkable geek. And when Maddie is with Logan, she’s the real her, and I like that. However, there’s a reason this book exists and that’s because Maddie was too afraid to be herself and hides herself behind a cheerleader outfit. She’d rather value popularity over being herself and that’s why she’s been faking who she is for the past 5 years.

It’s not that all of my friends have an unnatural hatred of comic books. It’s just one of those things popular people like me aren’t supposed to be into. We’re not like the group of poor RPG-obsessed guys that meet every morning in the band room to get in some imaginary life-living before class. They, at least, aren’t too embarrassed to admit who they are and what they love. I envy them. 

So yeah, Maddie, get your shit together, girl. I guess that’s also a lesson in this book: be true to yourself and love yourself and others will too. And if they don’t: it’s their loss.

“I’m a geeky badass, and I’m loving it.”

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

