Review: Dragon’s Lair (Wind Dragons MC #1) by Chantal Fernando

21807998

Summary:

When I found my boyfriend cheating on me, I did something stupid.

Or should I say, someone?

Because of that mistake, I’m now stuck in a world I don’t belong in.

I’m a law student. They’re criminals. He’s the vice president of a motorcycle club. I’m a good girl with a strict upbringing. He’s my ex-boyfriend’s brother.

And I’m screwed.

Review:

It’s not gonna be a long review, I’m telling you that. Remember a couple of months ago when I said that I had found a MC novel that I actually liked? Well, I shouldn’t have tried to find anymore.

Dragon’s Lair is the story of Dex and Faye, the book starts with her knowing that she is pregnant from that one night stand with Dex and trying to get away from Perth, yeah, it is set in Australia for a change. Her plan doesn’t go as well as she hoped because Dex finds her literally on her second day on the run. After a brief (very brief) flashback to what led to that moment we are back on the present to presence what’s going to happen.

We stare at each other for a few tense seconds.

“Fuck it,” he says, capturing my lips with his.

Although I really liked Faye, she is funny and she is probably the fictional character that most resembles me, the book is just too fast. I feel like the author wants to englobe too many events in just a few pages and that happens by abruptly cutting scenes and jumping forward on time like life depends on it. The book has 175 pages and showcases over a year and a half of their lives, too much in too little if you ask me. This makes it difficult to awknowledge any character development but for a few scenes, and when one second two people don’t get along the next second (which is like two months later in the books) they are best friends.

“Sex then food please,” I tell him, wiggling my eyebrows.

“Fuck you’re romantic,” he says sarcastically, grinning down at me. “That line was one for the ages. Some pure Shakespearean shit.”

Overall the story is a cute one with a predictable end but some huge bumps in the middle to get to it. The characters are funny and sexy, but as I said, didn’t have much room for development. Still I’m pretty excited to read Arrow’s story (coming out this June).

Dexter Black turned my world upside down, but then gave me his. And this world is where I want to be, as long as he’s right there by my side.

xx

paula  calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

