Review: Also Known As by Robin Benway

13132661

Summary:

Which is more dangerous: being an international spy… or surviving high school?

Maggie Silver has never minded her unusual life. Cracking safes for the world’s premier spy organization and traveling the world with her insanely cool parents definitely beat high school and the accompanying cliques, bad lunches, and frustratingly simple locker combinations. (If it’s three digits, why bother locking it at all?)

But when Maggie and her parents are sent to New York City for her first solo assignment, her world is transformed. Suddenly, she’s attending a private school with hundreds of “mean girl” wannabes, trying to avoid the temptation to hack the school’s elementary security system, and working to befriend the aggravatingly cute son of a potential national security threat… all while trying not to blow her cover.

From the hilarious and poignant author of Audrey, Wait! comes a fast-paced caper that proves that even the world’s greatest spies don’t have a mission plan for love.

Review:

Also Known As is from the same author as Audrey, Wait! and I absolutely adored that book, so I had to read this one as well and I loved it so much! It’s official: Robin Benway is now one of my favorite authors.

“I just want you to know I’m going to be hanging out with someone who has a criminal record!” I cried. “Let’s not forget that our family can never reenter Luxembourg without being arrested!” my dad yelled back. Touché.

I love Maggie. She is without a doubt one of my favorite protagonists. She is funny, loving, determined, curious and badass. She looks at life different than other people; but okay what do you expect from a teen spy?

Oh my God, I was at a high school party and there was alcohol and an actual girl fight. When did my life turn into a movie?

She has been homeschooled all her life, travelling the world with her parents to right the wrong things in name of the Collective, a secret spy organization. The next job is in New York and it’s her first time flying solo on this one. She has to befriend the son of a rich dude who runs his own news paper and break into his house, crack the safe and stop the story about exposing the Collective from running. Easier said than done though. First of all, because the son is hella cute and Maggie falls for him.

I’ve never had a boyfriend, but whatever. It’s cool. After all, most girls who have boyfriends probably can’t say they helped to bring down the Peruvian government, right? 

She also befriends Roux, the outcast at her new school, but damn Roux is awesome! She’s blunt and direct, and a little dramatic, but so is Maggie, so the two make a perfect match. And it’s the first time in forever that Maggie had a best friend. But, as her parents remind her, she is on an assignment so she shouldn’t get too attached to her ‘friend.’ Nevertheless, they have great best friend chemistry and I loved reading scenes with the two of them.

“Why are you so tall? I feel like a garden gnome next to you.” 
“Oh c’mon,” I told her. “You don’t look like a garden gnome. You’d never wear that little hat they all wear.” 
“Yes but the pants look comfy.” 

I started this book and I didn’t put it down till 3 hours later. I love Robin Benway’s writing style. It’s easy and light but it covers everything and even those chaotic discussions are written in a way, that it doesn’t mess with your brain but you can still feel the chaos coming from it.

“Your lying skills are terrible.”
“You raised a moral spy, what can I say? Is there any food? I’m starving. I could eat my weight in peanut butter.” 
“Let’s save that experiment for another day.” my dad said.

By now, you may have noticed that I have a weakness for teen spy books and that’s also why I loved this one. I mean, how often do you stumble upon a girl who is a professional safecracker?

“Back to the world of assumed identities and dark secrets,” I said as we passed through the gates. “Just like everyone else.” 

One last thing: Maggie and Jesse are so freaking adorable together! They make a lot of cheesy comments towards each other but they know they’re doing it and that makes it even more cute. And they’re not only being fluffy, but they’re like best friends too; they can talk about anything. Where’s my own Jesse?!

“It’s just ice skating. It’s not brain surgery. I would never take a girl to do brain surgery on a first date.” 

I’m putting this book on the shelf next to Ally Carter’s books and on the ‘this is amazing why have I not read this earlier?!’ shelf and next week I’ll be reviewing the sequel: Going Rogue (spoiler: there will be a handsome Irish dude).

amy calloway sisters

2 thoughts on “Review: Also Known As by Robin Benway

  1. Pingback: Review: Going Rogue (Also Known As #2) by Robin Benway | Calloway Books

Leave a Reply

