Review: Going Rogue (Also Known As #2) by Robin Benway

17934520

Summary:

Being permanently based in a local New York City high school as an undercover operative has its moments, good and bad, for 16-year-old safecracker Maggie Silver.

Pros: More quality time with her former mark-turned-boyfriend Jesse Oliver and insanely cool best friend, Roux.
Getting to spend quality time with her semi-retired and international spy honorary uncle, Angelo.

Cons: High school and the accompanying cliques, bad lunches, and frustratingly simple locker combinations.

But when Maggie’s parents are falsely accused of stealing priceless gold coins, Maggie uses her safecracking skills to try and clear their names.

Too bad it only serves to put her and everyone she loves in danger. Maggie and her “new team” flee to Paris where they must come up with a plan to defeat their former allies.

Review:

Back in Maggie’s world.. and I’m loving it so much! Going Rogue is the sequel to Also Known As and you can find a review of that book here. Check it out, it’s really awesome!

“Why are you the best?” 
“Because I learned it from you,” he replied, then wrinkled his nose. “We sound so stupid sometimes. ‘I learned it from you.’ Roux would puke if she heard us.”

Maggie has been living for a year as a normal teen girl, and it’s refreshing to be staying in one place for such a long time. She loves her boyfriend and hangs out with Roux all the time. But as a secret spy, how lang can your happy life last?

“I have a dozen of passports but at the end of the day, all those girls are me.” I tried to smile at him, but it felt wobbly. “You fell in love with a spy, sucks for both of us.” 

Her parents are falsely accused of stealing some precious coins years ago and Maggie has to set it right. Which means putting her safecracking skills to use and being very, very careful. No one can know what she’s doing, not even her own parents. But keeping this secret is hard, especially when she told Jesse and Roux everything last year. Is this secret going to cost their relationship and her friendship with Roux?

“The last time you sounded like that, you dropped twelve passports in my lap and then I had to run twenty blocks and jump into a helicopter so a crazypants madman wouldn’t kill me.” 

At one point, it’s not safe for them in New York anymore and Maggie, Jesse and Roux flee to Paris, where they meet up with three other spies. Meet Elodie, Ryo and.. Ames. The cute Irish guy who Roux falls for immediately. And with Roux, me too! *heart eyes* Love me a guy with an Irish accent.

While in Paris, they have to come up with a plan to right the wrong things and not get caught while doing it. And that, my friend, is easier said than done.

I don’t like to brag, but sometimes my life can be really exciting.

I love this book soooo muuuuuch! It’s such a fast and easy read but at the same time I just couldn’t put it down until I had reached the last page. Again, Maggie took me on an awesome spy-ish journey and reading this book made me want to be part of the team as well (even though I have no spy skills whatsoever).

“I almost got you killed.” 
“And now I’m in Paris, looking at the city lights with my amazing girlfriend. Ups and downs, babe. They happen to everyone.” 

Jesse and Maggie continue to be cute as hell, Roux is still bad ass and a drama queen and I even loved the new characters and- get me my own Ames!

Sadly, there won’t be any more books in the series *cries silently*. However, I’m still hoping there’s going to be a third book. Pretty please, Robin?

You haven’t lived until you’ve shouted German curse words with your dad in a Tokyo airport. It’s pretty great.

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

