Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

Summary:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Review:

I received a digital copy of this book from NetGalley, and I couldn’t be more happy! Sarah J. Maas writes beautifully, and if you don’t know that you haven’t read Throne of Glass yet, so please reconsider your priorities and go read it.

and for a moment, I wished I had it in me to feel remorse for the dead thing. But this was the forest, and it was winter.

This is kind of a retelling of The Beauty and the Beast, but hold your horses, I can hear someone complaining about a girl falling in love with her captor; it’s not as simple as that. Feyre lives with her dad and her two sisters, her mom died, but her family crumbled long before that. Poor, and barely able to have enough food to feed themselves, Feyre had to take responsibilities that weren’t hers to take. Since a young age she learned all sort of things to keep a promise she made to her mother before she died; to protect her family. She does just that until she kills a giant wolf, and a beast comes to her house giving her only to options: to die or to go and live in a land she only heard of in legends.

“I don’t know why I feel so tremendously ashamed of myself for leaving them. Why it feels so selfish and horrible to paint. I shouldn’t – shouldn’t feel that way, should I? I know I shouldn’t, but I can’t help it.”
The rose hung limply from my fingers. “All those years, what I did for them… And they didn’t try to stop you from taking me.”

As Feyre’s brought to the Spring Court, she finds out that the beast is actually a High Fae, Tamlin. But Tamlin is anything but a beast. As soon as he smiled for the first time I fell in love with him *sighs*. My dreams aside, Feyre never loses her focus and is just waiting for the right time to flee, but Tamlin promised to keep her family safe so that eases her up a bit. Faeries can’t lie, right?

“Do you ever stop being so serious and dull?”
“Do you ever stop being such a prick?” I snapped back.
Dead – really, truly, I should have been dead for that.
But Lucien grinned at me. “Much better.”

At first she’s really closed off, rightfully so I’d say, but with time she gets used to these people and to reconsider everything she’s ever thought about faeries. They’re not so bad, at least this ones. Sarah J. Maas creates a world so detailed, original, brutal and magical, it’s so captivating I still can’t think about anything else. A NA fantasy written by someone who can write so perfectly was all I’ve ever wanted; mixing the best from YA novels with the freedom that an older audience allows. And aside from the incredibly amazing romance *get ready for serious hotness*, it also makes the book more dark and honest. Bad faeries are really bad here.

“You’re so far away.” I gestured to the expanse of the table between us. “It’s like you’re in another room.” The quarters of the table vanished, leaving Tamlin not two feet away, sitting at an infinitely more intimate table. I yelped and almost tipped over in my chair. He laughed as I gaped at the small table that now stood between us. “Better?” he asked.

A good part of the book is dedicated to the slow building of Feyre’re relationship with people at court. It’s incredible, the characters are amazing, and they all have interesting backstories. A lot of characters start off as “bad” or at least, not friendly, but page after page everything starts to make sense and gets into perspective. There’s especially one villain who I can’t wait to learn more about. Don’t try to guess what happens, it’s a far too complicated riddle to solve.

“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

The second half of the book is as exciting as it gets, I wasn’t able to stop reading until I was done, and then I wanted to start all over again. Sarah J. Maas throws you into this beautifully crafted world, and I would love nothing more than to live in it.

manuela calloway sisters

2 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

