Review: The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass

22918050

Summary:

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

Review:

*sniffs*

That ending???

*sobs*

Seriously, Kiera, why?

*cries*

I’m sorry, I’m a bit emotional at the moment. But, ok, on to the review.

Staring into the mirror, I talked to my reflection. “You are Eadlyn Schreave. You are the next person in line to run this country, and you will be the first girl to do it on your own. No one,” I said, “is as powerful as you.”

You might notice that there’s a definite change of tone from America’s pov. Eadlyn, born seven minutes before her twin brother, Ahren, is bound to become the next ruler of the country; her parents didn’t want to take that away from her only because she was a girl, so they changed the rules. Eadlyn knows the power she holds, and wants to savor it, to be independent. She seems kind of snobbish at times, but well I like that, because it felt more real, and I was never really annoyed by her attitude. And, yeah, she is her mom’s daughter.

I couldn’t help but notice it was always this way. At state events or important dinners, Mom was beside Dad or situated right behind him. But when they were just husband and wife, not king and queen, he followed her everywhere.

Seeing Maxon and America being so in love after all those years was really beautiful. But they’re also very tired. After they got married, they gradually removed the castes, but people are starting to complain, they believe that a selection would distract people enough to give them some time to try and find a solution.

“Eadlyn, darling, we want you to be the best queen you can be, that’s all,” she pleaded. “I will,” I answered, one foot in the hallway. “And I certainly don’t need a boy to show me how to do that.”

Eadlyn isn’t really happy about that, but she knows that to be queen, she’ll have to make sacrifices and so, in the end, she agrees. Even though, she only promises 3 months, and no guarantee of a marriage at the end of it, and she’s definitely not planning on falling in love…

I admired the thought of a common boy feeling brave enough to face the challenge of becoming a prince. But no one was going to tie me down before I was ready, and I was going to make sure those poor suckers knew what they were signing up for. 

One of the main surprises, as the suitors are selected, is to find among them Kile. He’s always lived in the castle, and he’s never had a good relationship with Eadlyn, on the contrary, they quite dislike each other. But that could change. Since Eadlyn isn’t really up for romance, but needs to give something to the media, she bargains a kiss from Kile and that doesn’t go as expected; they find out they have more in common than they thought they would.

“Do you think that was enough?” “I… um… I don’t know.” “Just to be sure.” He pressed his mouth to mine again, and I was so surprised to get another kiss like that, it felt like my bones were turning into mush. I wrapped my fingers up into his hair, shocked at myself for having the urge to hold him in that pose all night.

Yes, I think Kile is my favorite out of them all, but there are some more really cute and sweet selected, and Eadlyn gets caught up with a couple of them. But she doesn’t want to open up with them, so whenever things get too intimate she bolts.

“What are you looking for in a husband?” What was I looking for? My independence. Peace, freedom… a happiness I thought I had until Ahren questioned it. I shrugged. “I’m not sure anyone knows what they’re looking for until they find it.”

In the end, this was really entertaining to read, and it sets up really well for an interesting sequel, because I have no idea who she’s going to end up with, if she ends up with someone at all. And I’m also very curious about all her brothers, and how the events of the last few chapters evolve. If you’re a fan of The Selection I don’t think you’ll be disappointed, but be ready for an emotional roller coaster at the end!

manuela calloway sisters

 

Leave a Reply

