Review: Kissing Madeline (Dearest #3) by Lex Martin

kissing madeline

Summary:

What’s the worst thing about wanting a sexy NFL football player? Everyone else wants him, too.

After catching my boyfriend getting deep-throated by a skanky cage girl, I’ve learned my lesson – never date a professional athlete. Never. Besides, I have more important things to worry about, like not blowing my shot to make it as a broadcast reporter. I won’t let anything get in my way, not even the new “it boy” of the NFL and my hot-as-hell neighbor.

What’s the worst thing about getting death glares from his new neighbor? It doesn’t make him want her any less.

I’ve worked my ass off to make it to the pros. The last thing I need is the complication of a relationship, especially since my last one was a total train wreck. But I can’t stop thinking about the feisty girl next door with the smart mouth. And I’d love nothing more than to show her what to do with that mouth.

Friends with benefits might be the best idea he’s ever had. Or the worst.

Review:

***5 DEAREST STARS***

Hi Rheeza here! I love Lex Martin and Kissing Madeline is another wonderful addition to  the Dearest series. I now totally believe that Ms. Martin can write one hell of a sexy hero. From Gavin, to Jax and now Daren… yup the stub muffins keep on coming!

My casting:

Meet Daren Sloan – sweet, lovable guy and yes, ladies A NFL PLAYER. I love me those fictional football players. It must be those tight butts.

“Bite me, McDermott.” He crosses his arms in front of his broad chest, making his shirt stretch more, those beckoning hazel eyes full of mischief. “Gladly. Where?” Holy shit. Did I just say that? A devilish smile ghosts his lips. “Careful, sweetheart. Don’t want you to break off more than you can chew.”

For those who read Dearest Clementine, we knew what he’d done to Clem, so I wasn’t that sure at first if I would like him, but boy did that doubt flew off the window after page 10. He really is such a nice, charming and caring man. He’s NOT your typical asshole NA hero, which is refreshing! However, he breathes and lives football, add the fact that he’s recently broken up with Veronica (thank god cos she didn’t deserve him!), he then planned not to settle down with someone anytime soon.

And here is my Madeline McDermott:

She closes her eyes and tilts her head back, and I catch my breath as her lips part, everything losing focus but that beautiful face. When I am old and gray, I want to remember this moment and the girl before me. I’m not a religious man, but if I believed in angels and signs, I’d be tempted to think the vision before me is beatific.

Maddie. She is witty, smart, and confident. But after seeing her MMF boyfriend with a cage girl, she promises herself to swear off athletes and to focus on her career as a broadcast journalist.  She was determined to cover relevant stories but her douche of a boss wanted her to cover sports instead. Having to interview Daren freaking Sloan several times for a segment and having him as her new neighbor kind of freaks her out. Maddie is concerned because seriously who wants to be close to that irresistible hotness, right? C’mon do I want that?

Both are set to not having a distraction from their profession but their chemistry is off the chart and they can’t fight it for too long. So what’s the solution? To be friends with benefits! Surprisingly, it was not frustrating despite that theme. There were some issues that they had to deal with but honestly, it was such a light, enjoyable and *fans self* sexy read! I loved it! Really loved it!

“Stop. Staring.” His eyebrows raise. But then his eyes travel over my face. “Stop being so insanely beautiful.”

The interactions between Daren and Maddie were sweet and amazing and some of their playful dialogues were so cute yet not cheesy, so props to Ms. Martin! I don’t know I just adore those two together so much, they’re so perfect for each other it’s making me emotional! And did I mention that it was a sexy read? Yes? Because HOLY SHIT ON THE STICK, the sex scenes were SIZZLING HOT!! But it was written in a way that it never overshadowed the story. A perfect combination of friendship, romance and humor!

So, the steamy factor was 1000000% there from the very beginning and never let up. It’s well-written, there were plot twists to keep interest and the characters were awesome! Plus, seeing Jax & Dandelion and Gavin & Clem, Ryan & Jenna was so great! AND JESUS THE EPILOGUE GAVE ME SO MUCH FEELS I CAN’T!!

Overall, the Dearest series is one of the best New Adult books out there. It is definitely a must read! Oh and the fact that all the books have a very pretty cover is not bad at all. I hope we’ll get to read more of them!

rheeza

 

calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

