Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

9460487

Summary:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography.

Review:

Hi *waves* Amy here! I had heard a lot of good things about this book and my best friend gave it to me for Christmas (yes it’s really bad that I only read it now), so I had no excuses to not read it anymore. The cover looks a bit creepy and if you tumble through the book fast all the pictures look a little weird (and some are just plain creepy), but the story is amazing! All hail to Ransom Riggs, I absolutely loved this book!

“I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen.”

Jacob is a normal fifteen year old, as far as normal goes. He doesn’t have many friends and he’s an only child and his best friend is basically his grandpa, who used to tell Jacob stories about his life on this little island near Scotland, where he lived in a house with peculiar children. Like a girl who could fly and a boy who was invisible. At first, Jacob believed him but when he grew up he told his grandpa he didn’t believe in fairytales anymore and his grandpa didn’t talk about them again.

“Because we weren’t like other people. We were peculiar.”
“Peculiar how?”
“Oh, all sorts of ways,” he said. “There was a girl who could fly, a boy who had bees living inside him, a brother and sister who could lift boulders over their heads.”

The book starts with Jacob seeing his grandpa get killed by monsters, but of course, everyone tells them monsters aren’t real and that they must have been dogs. It’s so drilled into him he starts to believe it. But then, he finds a letter. A letter from Miss Peregrine speaking about the home where his grandpa used to live. Jacob gets his dad to go with him to Scotland to investigate and that’s where he finds the peculiar children. However, he doesn’t find them so easily and well.. not in this century.

“I don’t mean to be rude,” I said, “but what are you people?”
“We’re peculiar,” he replied, sounding a bit puzzled. “Aren’t you?”

I want to tell you so much more about the story but I don’t want to spoil anything so I’m gonna leave it at this.. but oh my god there are no words for how much I loved this book! It reeled me in from the very first page and hungry for more I kept turning the pages. It felt like some sort of thriller/horror movie to me, instead I was reading it. I could just feel weird and creepy things about to happen, but they were balanced with the funny things.

“Have they built cities on the moon?” another boy asked hopefully.
“We left some garbage and a flag there in the sixties, but that’s about it.”

I love how Ransom Riggs put this book together, it’s mentioned in the back of the book. That he created a story around the photographs he had found and that is just so awesome! It’s such an original story, with amazingly interested characters (how much more interesting can it get when you are friends with an invisible boy?!) and it’s insanely well written. I can not wait to get my hands on Hollow City. Oh, and Ransom: you are officially one of my favorite authors.

“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”

 

amy calloway sisters

Leave a Reply

