Review: All I Know Now: Wonderings and Reflections on Growing Up Gracefully by Carrie Hope Fletcher

22232035

Summary:

We all know that growing up is hard to do, and sometimes the only thing that makes it better are the reassuring words of someone who has walked that bumpy road just a few steps ahead of you and somehow ended up as a fully-functioning adult. Carrie Hope Fletcher is that person.* Thanks to her phenomenally popular YouTube videos, Carrie has become an ‘honorary big sister’ to hundreds of thousands of young people who turn to her for advice, friendship and, most of all, the knowledge that things will get better.

Carrie has created a safe and positive space for young people to connect and share their hopes and concerns online, and now she will share her most personal thoughts and experiences in her first book, ALL I KNOW NOW. Part memoir, part advice guide, it will include Carrie’s thoughts on some of the topics she’s asked about most regularly: bullying, body image, relationships and perhaps the scariest question of all: what does the future hold for me? With warmth, wit and a sprinkling of hard-won wisdom, Carrie will provide the essential tools for growing up gracefully… most of the time.

*Although she did recently post a video about how to pee in a onesie. So the definition of ‘adult’ is a bit flexible here..

Review:

Hey Amy here! This is not a book I’d normally read, but I’m a big fan of Carrie and I always watch her vlogs on Youtube, so as a real fan, a ‘hopeful’, I figured I had to show my support. So when I was in London I couldn’t not go to a Waterstones and buy a copy of this book. And I’m glad I did.

Dear You, 
My name is Carrie and I’m twenty-two years old.
Apparently that makes me an adult. Yikes.
*hides stuffed animals*

That’s what the blurb says on the inside of the book and also how I knew I was going to love this book, because honestly.. I feel the same way! We have a bit of an age difference since I’m 19, but Carrie wrote a lot of things in this book that I could totally relate to. And it made me feel a lot better to actually read that someone went through sort of the same stuff and- look where she is now! I hope I’ll be as happy about my life as Carrie is in three years.

 When I was in ‘the Teen Age’, I was never sure whether I was ‘normal’ or not. I never seemed to swap my number with any boys at school discos, I never really enjoyed the shopping trips my friends organised because wended up in Ambercrombie & Fitch rather than Waterstones. 

Thank you Carrie, for making us introverted, bookworms feel like we are not alone! There are a lot of us out there that don’t fit in the high school hierarchy, but that’s okay. Out of my own experience I know that after high school it gets so much better. Yes, there are still bitchy, judgmental people out there, but there always will be, no matter how old you get. The key is to not let them get you down, because really, they are not worth your energy and time.

Happiness is always there. You just have to choose to see it. There’s no point dwelling in the dark and ignoring the light of the stars.

Carrie talks about friendships and relationships, broken hearts, and making mistakes and along the way, she tells us some of her own stories. Some of them are funny and others are heartbreaking. She gives us tips how to deal with bullies at school, how to deal with break ups and friends. She keeps saying, she’s not a professional, but a lot of the tips she gives, are really helpful.

Because I watch Carrie’s videos a lot (and with a lot, I mean A LOT!) I could practically hear her saying everything in the book as if it was one of her vlogs. I could already see the cuppa tea in her hand and her book case (or purple wall from her new flat) behind her as she told us her stories and soothed us that we are not alone in feeling lonely and lost and imperfect. One quote really stuck with me, about being perfect.

Your idea of perfect could be so different from my idea of perfect so.. what even is perfection anyway, really? Being uniquely imperfect is what makes us interesting and what makes us all us.

Yes, you’re not perfect. Yes, you’ll never  be perfect, but it’s okay, because that’s what makes you so interesting to hang out with, to be best friends with, to be in love with. Thank you Carrie, for showing us that making mistakes is OKAY!

To err is human.

Like I said, I normally don’t read books like this, but I loved it a lot and it reminded me of who I am and what I love and why I do the things I do, and even though I am not in high school anymore, I still could identify myself with Carrie and a lot of her advice is going to help me for the rest of my life. So if you just left high school or if you’re 25 and you love Carrie’s videos, but not sure whether to read this book or not: give it the benefit of the doubt and pick it up in your bookstore. It’s so worth it 🙂

amy

Leave a Reply

