Review: Combative (Combative #1) by Jay McLean

20894361

Summary:

We all play victims to our pasts; to the choices we make and the lives we create.
They define who we are.
And sometimes if we’re lucky enough, the past stays where it belongs: in the past.
I’m not one of the lucky ones.
I never have been.
Because now the past is knocking on my door, offering deals I have no choice but to take… deals that will help bring justice—not just for me, but for my brothers.

The problem?
The deal is a ticking time bomb.
One I didn’t know existed.

Tick.
Tock.

Review:

What an exlosive start for this new series by one of my favorite authors! If you don’t know her you can check out her first series, which is adorably cute and heartbreaking, here; also my review of Where the Road Takes Me, a beautiful standalone, here. This has a completely different vibe, though, and I really enjoyed that.

Dad – the epitome of someone who’s supposed to love and protect you. But he wasn’t any of those things. He was the devil. In the flesh. His red-rimmed eyes held so much rage.

Meet Kyler Parker, this big bad wolf with the sweetest heart ever. He’s had a really difficult past, but when he found a best friend in his neighbour, Jackson, he also found a family ready to take him with them. But things turn bad again and out of guilt and shame he decides to enlist. After his tour in Afghanistan, he’s back, and Jackson, now a detective, offers him a deal that he can’t turn down; because it’ll give him the closure and the opportunity to fight for the death of his blood-brother, Steve. He has to get into the trust-circle of this drugs dealer, becoming a fighter in his organized matches, and help Jackson put him behind bars.

I know it’s Madison knocking without having to open the door. She has this specific knock. Three taps. All quiet. All timid. Kind of like her.

Now meet Madison Haynes, Ky’s new neighbour. She’s an insecure, shy girl, with anxiety problem. She’s really cute, though, and Ky finds himself attracted to her, and with this strong need to protect her. Even though we get her POV sometimes, she’s a mistery. She doesn’t talk about her past, or about herself that much. She’s hiding something, and Ky knows it, but so is he.

I’m nervous. And I’m so afraid of everything this kiss makes me feel. Because it’s more than just a kiss. It’s a sense of hope, and reason, and promise.

Ky and Madison’s relationship is so cute, and as they get to spend more time together Ky starts to open up to her, she does too, but she keeps holding back something. As the plot developes we find out more, and it gets hella interesting, and then, holy mother of plot twists! Jay pulled a mean one on us with that ending.

I saw the hurt in his eyes and I almost told him everything. Almost. But then… where the hell would I even start?

The writing is fluid and the story intriguing, it pulls you in right from the start. Now waiting for the second book is going to be very hard. Also, please I need more about Dr. Aroma! She was great!

Good reading!

manuela calloway sisters

 

Leave a Reply

